Biab Volumes For A 15 Lt Pot

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shjbrown

Reaction score
I am new to AG and BIAB, and currently doing extract partial boils in a 15 lt cheapie pot, while I save up for a 40 lt urn for BIAB. Id like to do a few small scale BIAB practice runs while I wait for the urn.

Can someone recommend volumes/grain weights to use for BIAB in a 15 lt pot? I am going to use my 12 lt BB for fermentation, so shooting for about 10 lt into primary. Id like to do American pale ale style beers, with SNPA and LCPA as commercial examples.

Also, I've got some muslin that I bought for grain soaking (silly spotlight women couldn't find the swiss voile), can I use this?

Thanks for any advice!

Muslin doesn't drain very well... you really need nylon/polyester voile... Spotlight have it but they often aren't aware. It's like sheer curtain material with small but visible holes. Keep looking!

Probably worth reading the NickD 19L pot thread in regards to grain/volume/etc. Scale it down to suit your pot size.

You'll probably lose 1L when you bottle - that's a lot of effort for 9L of beer!

Might be cheaper to get a 40L pot, install an element and tap ... prob half cost of an urn.

Where are you located?

I am new to AG and BIAB, and currently doing extract partial boils in a 15 lt cheapie pot, while I save up for a 40 lt urn for BIAB. I’d like to do a few small scale BIAB practice runs while I wait for the urn.

Can someone recommend volumes/grain weights to use for BIAB in a 15 lt pot? I am going to use my 12 lt BB for fermentation, so shooting for about 10 lt into primary. I’d like to do American pale ale style beers, with SNPA and LCPA as commercial examples.

Also, I've got some muslin that I bought for grain soaking (silly spotlight women couldn't find the swiss voile), can I use this?