Basic Kegging Set Up Guides

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gros21

Reaction score
ok im ne wto this whole thing, ive doen sprits for years and thats about it so here is a list of quetsions.

1. ive been told i need a second keg to decant the beer waht is this. and does this ahve to be cold.

2. ok my beer is in my keg ready to go do i have to purge it? if so how.

3. Whats the cheapest way to control my fermantion temps (i am a lecky by trade) and does it really matter that much

4. Can u reccomend me a set up i was thinking

Kegerator to hold 3x19L kegs (new)
A 3 tap post so i can have 2 brews on tap
ill buy a set of 4 kegs
i have a CO2 cylinder with guages

Hoping to have change from $750 but will go to $1000
any thing else ive looked through here but there i stomuch info for me to take in and process

OK...

1. You dont need another keg. One will do just fine to start with. What people do with this is move from primary/secondary into the first keg. Let it settle out then move the liquid through the beer disconnects into the new keg, leaving any sediment in the original keg (and ultimately producing a clearer beer). I have never found the need to do this, but it is handy if you want to run a filter between kegs.

2. Purging is the process of filling the keg with CO2, then releasing the pressure. What this does, as CO2 is heavier than air, is pushes the air out of the keg. What i do is fill the keg 3 or so times and release, then fill from fermenter.