Allergic to Chlorine, fluoride and tap water in general

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mickiboi

Reaction score
Hi all. I'm new to brewing and I am starting on a Coopers Pale ale kit and going to work my way up to all grain when I get the feel of things, however long that may take. But for the moment I just want to make a beer and keg it and work out what to do. I am a distiller and have been making mashes for a while so now I turn to home brew as an extension of my hobby.

I live in Adelaide and the water here is crap, I can't drink it with out breaking out in a rash and boils that would make a pox ridden hooker look like Miss Universe. I have to drink distilled water, which I add a teaspoon (5ml) of saturated Himalayan sea salt water to every litre I drink. You can't taste it and it makes up for the minerals that the distilled water is deficient in.

So now to my question. I have been told I cant brew in distilled water and I have been told that's BS. Apparently all I need to do is to add calcium sulfate to the water (0.5mg/l) to use with a kit and I have been told I don't need to do anything. What's correct here? If I do need to do something to the distilled water in order to use it, what do I do? I sort of need to work this out now as everything I will do will be done with distilled water.

Thanks in advance

Be forewarned that I think the thread title could considered trollbait and considering this is post #2, I'm both reluctant to pass judgement and a little suspicious. I'll bite my tongue regarding allergies and the like but I think that's where this thread is going to descend.