Allergic to Chlorine, fluoride and tap water in general

mickiboi said:
So now to my question. I have been told I cant brew in distilled water and I have been told that's BS. Apparently all I need to do is to add calcium sulfate to the water (0.5mg/l) to use with a kit and I have been told I don't need to do anything. What's correct here? If I do need to do something to the distilled water in order to use it, what do I do? I sort of need to work this out now as everything I will do will be done with distilled water.

Thanks in advance
Of course you can brew with RO water.. its complete BS that you cant

There are already trace elements and minerals in the malt extract which the yeast needs

The matter of water chemistry comes down more to the style of beer you want to brew.

English ales are historically made from harder water. Google Burton-on-trent water and burtonizing water ( epsom salts, gypsum etc )

Pilsners are made from soft water ( more like rain water )

My suggestion would be to brew with rain water if you can get it or whatever water doesnt cause you problems

Brewed for AG many years just using rain water and my beer was always fine and I never added anything to it, except a few experiments with English Ales and salts which really did make a difference with respect that it gave the beers a real mineral bite

Tex N Oz said:
I'm not discrediting this professor mate. I'm just questioning why a professor of metastatic myeloma is giving some guy advice on his drinking water?
I ask my cardio-thoracic surgeon (who is a professor) a question about my headaches and he doesn't want a bar of it. He sends me off to a neurologist, even though it was caused by a drug my cardio surgeon gave me..
Maybe he is looking at a bigger picture.....

Maybe he can see a correlation with what is in the water to what is happening in his blood...

Tex N OZ

I never once asked for health advice, no where in anything I have written have I asked anyone here to diagnose me, treat me, offer me advice or find some way to brew a healthy beer, I don't know where you read that or haw you interpreted anything I have written as asking for health advice. Read my posts again. My question was can I brew using distilled water? Simple. Read it again.
I stated the reasons I can't drink tap water. Fluoride is a POISON. It is banned in many countries in Europe and I am extremely allergic to it. If you think it's ok, go and eat a kilo of mate. I ended up with Professor Zannettino as he is a haematologist, he deals in blood, google it. Initially they thought I had a blood disorder and he has stuck with me to find out why I am so allergic to fluoride. Distilled water leaches minerals from your body. Known fact. I also see an allergy specialist and a cardiologist to make sure that my body is not being damaged. I have blood tests every month and and echo cardiogram every three months to check on my blood vessels.
As for chlorine, when it enters the body as a result of breathing, swallowing or skin contact it it reacts with water to produce acids.The acids are corrosive and damage cells in the body on contact. Google it. If you think chlorine is ok, go eat a kilo of that too.

So mate I really doubt your qualifications as an engineer and I doubt you can read too because you clearly didn't read anything that I have written. You interpret things in your own way which in this case is entirely wrong.

Sodium and chloride when present together do not sodium chloride make. As an engineer you should be able to work that out. Unless you're not. You're also not a Dr.

ducatiboy stu No mate I haven't tried river Murray salt.

So now to the admin of this forum please delete me from here.

mickiboi said:
Tex N OZ

I never once asked for health advice, no where in anything I have written have I asked anyone here to diagnose me, treat me, offer me advice or find some way to brew a healthy beer, I don't know where you read that or haw you interpreted anything I have written as asking for health advice. Read my posts again. My question was can I brew using distilled water? Simple. Read it again.
I stated the reasons I can't drink tap water. Fluoride is a POISON. It is banned in many countries in Europe and I am extremely allergic to it. If you think it's ok, go and eat a kilo of mate. I ended up with Professor Zannettino as he is a haematologist, he deals in blood, google it. Initially they thought I had a blood disorder and he has stuck with me to find out why I am so allergic to fluoride. Distilled water leaches minerals from your body. Known fact. I also see an allergy specialist and a cardiologist to make sure that my body is not being damaged. I have blood tests every month and and echo cardiogram every three months to check on my blood vessels.
As for chlorine, when it enters the body as a result of breathing, swallowing or skin contact it it reacts with water to produce acids.The acids are corrosive and damage cells in the body on contact. Google it. If you think chlorine is ok, go eat a kilo of that too.

So mate I really doubt your qualifications as an engineer and I doubt you can read too because you clearly didn't read anything that I have written. You interpret things in your own way which in this case is entirely wrong.

Sodium and chloride when present together do not sodium chloride make. As an engineer you should be able to work that out. Unless you're not. You're also not a Dr.

ducatiboy stu No mate I haven't tried river Murray salt.

So now to the admin of this forum please delete me from here.
You are correct that I should reserve my opinion and others have told me the same. My apologies.
I don't know your situation or condition therefore I really have no grounds. I'm wrong.

mickiboi said:
. It's at the end of the Murray after every town along the way has dumped it sewage into it and every animal along the way has crapped in it. Turns out I don't get rid of fluoride that easy and I'm at the tipping point.
Adelaide has always had hard water. People who are used to soft water cant handle hard water. It will make you crook in the guts. I have worked out western NSW and drunk bore water, and I know from experience that it doesnt agree with you, and boy can it make you shit thru the eye of a needle. But there are plenty who can handle it without issue.

Towns no longer " dump" sewage into the river ( or any river for that matter ). It is now highly treated.

Without being a smart ass, is it only Adelaide water that causes you problems ?

Have you compared the levels of fluoride and chlorine against other towns/cities and can you drink their water ?

I am not a doctor or battery licker, but do realise that certain people are allergic to some really strange things.

I would also hate to see that if you go down the route of water treatment for brewing that it aggravated your condition.

I understand your frustration mate, but oh my goodness whatever you say do not state that fluoride is a poison or is a byproduct from aluminium smelting and all that kind of thing. That will not help your cause.
Fluoride is fluoride, regardless of the original process it was generated from.

The world health organisation has stated that fluoridisation of drinking water has been one of the best preventative medical initiatives ever. It protects people's teeth. Natural rivers and streams have comparable levels of fluoride. Sometimes more.

Yes, fluorine is incredibly reactive. It reacts with the calcium in your teeth to allow the enamel to regenerate.

Everything is a poison, it's just the dose that matters.

mickiboi said:
I'm not a troll mate. Thanks for answering my question.
Not a worry, that's the purpose of these forums. But the remainder of this thread is was what I was wary of.

mickiboi said:
Tex N OZ

Look at the thread title. If you were asking about distilled water you should have called the thread "can I brew kits with distilled water?". Mentioning allergies and chemicals incites these arguments and it was always going to go down this path. If you don't want people to offer advice on chlorine of fluoride, don't mention chlorine or fluoride. Can't we all just stick to brewing?

Just a thought, I may be wrong

Consider this - a beer kit is basically a normal wort that has a great majority of water removed. Do we know for certain what the composition of the water used by different makers of beer kits.
By removing this water (note not all the water is removed, just most of it) then does the flouride and chlorine get removed as well, or does it remain and is concentrated?
If it is reduced by the same proportion as the water there must still be a small amount in the kit as there is still a small amount of the brew water remaining.
Will this amount be below your tolerance level? You may not even be able to use kits at all.

I'm pretty confident that the water used in the kits is RO water. Coopers for instance produce the cans and use RO water for their brewing, and some of their cans come are made from the wort used in their commercial beers. Any salt additions for pH and flavour adjustment have already been made. There would be no reason to add other chemicals.

OP, if you want to learn more about water additions for brewing, one of the simplest-to-understand sources I have found for info about brewing water additions is the four-part Brew Strong series on water. Particularly the third show, but you'll probably need the first two to understand the third one. Start with Why Adjust Your Water and then go on to parts 2-4.

http://www.thebrewingnetwork.com/page/2/?s=Water

Thanks Stu. Much appreciated.

klangers said:
I understand your frustration mate, but oh my goodness whatever you say do not state that fluoride is a poison or is a byproduct from aluminium smelting and all that kind of thing. That will not help your cause.
Fluoride is fluoride, regardless of the original process it was generated from.

The world health organisation has stated that fluoridisation of drinking water has been one of the best preventative medical initiatives ever. It protects people's teeth. Natural rivers and streams have comparable levels of fluoride. Sometimes more.

Yes, fluorine is incredibly reactive. It reacts with the calcium in your teeth to allow the enamel to regenerate.

Everything is a poison, it's just the dose that matters.
http://www.slweb.org/carlsson.html Dr Carlsson Nobel Prize winning laureate.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zo6SnvmMP9k Professor Paul Connett

You're right, it's not poison, I should have called it by its correct name......TOXIC.

If you want to continue to drink fluoride be my guest. Your health is not my concern, my health is.

But I tell you one thing, I'm not putting fluoride into my body just because you say it's ok and people way way way smarter than you tell me it's not.

But you are right, this is not the right place to discuss the quality of water or the effects of fluoridation of water on your health. My only concern is that I don't drink it in my beer. What you drink in your beer is of no concern to me.

I find it strange that grown people think that something is OK to put in their bodies just because the water board says it is.

Anyway I think it's time I left this forum. Catch you all later.

Coalminer said:
Just a thought, I may be wrong

Consider this - a beer kit is basically a normal wort that has a great majority of water removed. Do we know for certain what the composition of the water used by different makers of beer kits.
By removing this water (note not all the water is removed, just most of it) then does the flouride and chlorine get removed as well, or does it remain and is concentrated?
If it is reduced by the same proportion as the water there must still be a small amount in the kit as there is still a small amount of the brew water remaining.
Will this amount be below your tolerance level? You may not even be able to use kits at all.
Spoke to Coopers, the water they use is all good. Goes through a Millipore filter system. I have been down this road many many times.

Mardoo said:
OP, if you want to learn more about water additions for brewing, one of the simplest-to-understand sources I have found for info about brewing water additions is the four-part Brew Strong series on water. Particularly the third show, but you'll probably need the first two to understand the third one. Start with Why Adjust Your Water and then go on to parts 2-4.

http://www.thebrewingnetwork.com/page/2/?s=Water
Excellent mate. Thank you, that is just what I was looking for.

Coopers use RO water then Burtonize it. That goes for all their wort if it ends up in bottles or canned goo. Dude running the brewery tour told me that a couple of years ago.
FWIW.

mickiboi said:
http://themeadow.com/pages/minerals-in-himalayan-pink-salt-spectral-analysis

This is what's in it. I wouldn't do this lightly guys, trust me. I have had one of the best professors work with me for years to find a solution to this crap I have gone through. And it works for me and many others. And I know it says fluoride but there it's so low it ha no affect on me. What's in the tap water here is much much higher. And it is not produced from the waste of aluminium smelting like the fluoride in the water and toothpaste. It's a naturally forming version that is not even molecularly similar.
Once dissolved in solution, a fluoride ion is a fluoride ion.

Bridges said:
Coopers use RO water then Burtonize it. That goes for all their wort if it ends up in bottles or canned goo. Dude running the brewery tour told me that a couple of years ago.
FWIW.

Is that directed at me? Have a look at Millipore filters. This is what I was told they use when I rang them. Anyway they start with pure clean water.

Tex N Oz said:
All good mate, like I said yesterday, if you think it's safe and you want to drink it or anyone else wants to drink it, you drink it, no skin of my nose. I can't and I don't so I won't. I got my answer, distilled water is fine to brew with with no additions. I'm happy. :D .I think from the link that mardoo posted I can get to AG quite comfortably. To all those that contributed in a positive way thank heaps guys.