Wine fridge at Aldi

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jackgym

Reaction score
Hi
This is my first time here. I used to brew years ago and thinking seriously of getting back into it. After reading a lot on the web the main concern seems to be the fermenting temperature. Aldi have a wine fridge coming on special on Wed. August 5 ($299) which has cooling and heating facilities and temp. control between 5-18deg. It holds 46 bottles of wine so should be big enough for a fermenter with the shelves taken out. If I got my fermenter down around 18 deg. (ale) then threw the yeast in and bunged it into the wine fridge set at 18, how would that go? No having to buy a chest freezer, temp controller and heat belt. I reckon it's a good price.

I'd be looking for an old fridge or freezer. You can even get a bar fridge for cheaper than that. Does need some mods though. Costs less plus you get more options. About 2c-21c+

Welcome.

If it's a peltier fridge I've heard, (happy to be corrected), that they don't cope so well with an active source of heat such as fermenting wort. So you may need to watch the actual temp of the fermentor and use bottles of ice water or some such. I'm sure it will be better than just ambient though.

Still I'd try and look into a second hand appropriate sized bar fridge if possible.

A second hand fridge (I use a bar fridge for ferm) and temp controller will be cheaper, you will hardly need a heat belt in QLD (unless you want to do a saison in winter).

crowmanz said:
A second hand fridge (I use a bar fridge for ferm) and temp controller will be cheaper, you will hardly need a heat belt in QLD (unless you want to do a saison in winter).