White Labs Yeast - 833 Or 830 Or 800? Advice?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rendo

WTF
Reaction score
Hi All,

Going to brew a light golden coloured German/Austrian Lager. Kinda like Bitburger beer.

I am stuck (pardon the pun) on what yeast to use. I am almost certain to use the White Labs German Bock Lager WLP833, but I am thinking maybe going the German Lager Yeast WLP830 OR the Pilsner Yeast WLP800

Any advice on the yeast choice. I have never used liquid yeast before. Happy to make a starter if needed, but more so just want advice on which one to choose. (PS...I have a fermentation fridge, going to brew @ 11 deg)

Anyone used WLP833 for a light golden lager?? compared to 830 etc?

Adam

Hi All,

Going to brew a light golden coloured German/Austrian Lager. Kinda like Bitburger beer.

I am stuck (pardon the pun) on what yeast to use. I am almost certain to use the White Labs German Bock Lager WLP833, but I am thinking maybe going the German Lager Yeast WLP830 OR the Pilsner Yeast WLP800

Any advice on the yeast choice. I have never used liquid yeast before. Happy to make a starter if needed, but more so just want advice on which one to choose. (PS...I have a fermentation fridge, going to brew @ 11 deg)

Anyone used WLP833 for a light golden lager?? compared to 830 etc?

Adam

Made a great Helles using 830

Screwy

Thanks Screwy,

I think it was you who got me onto the 833 originally, but would you say that 830 is better for a 'helles' than using 833 then?

(the other thing is, does it really make that much difference or am I splitting hairs?)

rendo
:blink:
Made a great Helles using 830

Screwy

833 is not dry enough for a bitburger style use 830 or 800. 833 is still a good yeast though, I used it quite a bit better suited to maltier styles.