What Happens When Pollux Gets Bored?

Pollux

RoachHaus Brewery
Sudden random hopburst IPA....

Was doing a scan over the inventory last night and thought, yeah, I might make an IPA, always wanted to do so....

Then I started to check my hop stocks, lots of bits and pieces but mostly under 40g of each variety....Then I got the idea, hopburst....

Observe the madness I created this afternoon, I ditched my hop sock and had a go at doing a decent whirlpool, I think the urn needs a pickup tube....

Batch Size: 24.00 L
Boil Size: 31.40 L
Estimated OG: 1.070 SG
Estimated Color: 19.3 EBC
Estimated IBU: 55.5 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients: ------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
5.00 kg Pale Malt, Traditional Ale (Joe White) (5.Grain 70.42 %
1.50 kg Wheat Malt, Malt Craft (Joe White) (3.5 EBGrain 21.13 %
0.40 kg Crystal Malt -Bairds (110.0 EBC) Grain 5.63 %
0.20 kg Carared (Weyermann) (47.3 EBC) Grain 2.82 %
5.00 gm Tettnang [4.50 %] (30 min) Hops 1.5 IBU
5.00 gm Williamette [5.50 %] (30 min) Hops 1.9 IBU
5.00 gm Nelson Sauvin [11.50 %] (30 min) Hops 3.9 IBU
5.00 gm Goldings, East Kent [5.00 %] (30 min) Hops 1.7 IBU
5.00 gm Fuggles [4.50 %] (30 min) Hops 1.5 IBU
5.00 gm Northdown [8.50 %] (30 min) Hops 2.9 IBU
5.00 gm Tettnang [4.50 %] (25 min) Hops 1.4 IBU
5.00 gm Northdown [8.50 %] (25 min) Hops 2.6 IBU
5.00 gm Goldings, East Kent [5.00 %] (25 min) Hops 1.5 IBU
5.00 gm Nelson Sauvin [11.50 %] (25 min) Hops 3.5 IBU
5.00 gm Williamette [5.50 %] (25 min) Hops 1.7 IBU
5.00 gm Fuggles [4.50 %] (25 min) Hops 1.4 IBU
5.00 gm Goldings, East Kent [5.00 %] (20 min) Hops 1.3 IBU
5.00 gm Williamette [5.50 %] (20 min) Hops 1.5 IBU
5.00 gm Nelson Sauvin [11.50 %] (20 min) Hops 3.1 IBU
5.00 gm Fuggles [4.50 %] (20 min) Hops 1.2 IBU
5.00 gm Tettnang [4.50 %] (20 min) Hops 1.2 IBU
5.00 gm Northdown [8.50 %] (20 min) Hops 2.3 IBU
5.00 gm Williamette [5.50 %] (15 min) Hops 1.2 IBU
5.00 gm Northdown [8.50 %] (15 min) Hops 1.8 IBU
5.00 gm Fuggles [4.50 %] (15 min) Hops 1.0 IBU
5.00 gm Nelson Sauvin [11.50 %] (15 min) Hops 2.5 IBU
5.00 gm Goldings, East Kent [5.00 %] (15 min) Hops 1.1 IBU
5.00 gm Tettnang [4.50 %] (15 min) Hops 1.0 IBU
5.00 gm Tettnang [4.50 %] (10 min) Hops 0.7 IBU
5.00 gm Nelson Sauvin [11.50 %] (10 min) Hops 1.8 IBU
5.00 gm Williamette [5.50 %] (10 min) Hops 0.9 IBU
5.00 gm Northdown [8.50 %] (10 min) Hops 1.4 IBU
5.00 gm Fuggles [4.50 %] (10 min) Hops 0.7 IBU
5.00 gm Goldings, East Kent [5.00 %] (10 min) Hops 0.8 IBU
5.00 gm Cascade [5.50 %] (10 min) Hops 0.9 IBU
5.00 gm Fuggles [4.50 %] (5 min) Hops 0.4 IBU
5.00 gm Williamette [5.50 %] (5 min) Hops 0.5 IBU
5.00 gm Goldings, East Kent [5.00 %] (5 min) Hops 0.4 IBU
5.00 gm Northdown [8.50 %] (5 min) Hops 0.7 IBU
5.00 gm Nelson Sauvin [11.50 %] (5 min) Hops 1.0 IBU
5.00 gm Tettnang [4.50 %] (5 min) Hops 0.4 IBU
5.00 gm Cascade [5.50 %] (5 min) Hops 0.5 IBU
5.00 gm Williamette [5.50 %] (0 min) Hops -
5.00 gm Fuggles [4.50 %] (0 min) Hops -
5.00 gm Goldings, East Kent [5.00 %] (0 min) Hops -
5.00 gm Tettnang [4.50 %] (0 min) Hops -
5.00 gm Northdown [8.50 %] (0 min) Hops -
5.00 gm Nelson Sauvin [11.50 %] (0 min) Hops -
5.00 gm Cascade [5.50 %] (0 min) Hops -

1.00 items Whirlfloc Tablet (Boil 15.0 min)
Misc 1 Pkgs Safale US-05 (DCL Yeast #US-05) Yeast-Ale

Mash Schedule: !-BIAB Single Infusion, Medium body, No MO Total Grain Weight: 7.10 kg !-BIAB Single Infusion, Medium body, No MO Step Time Name Description Step Temp 90 min Infusion Add 35.00 L of water at 70.1 C 66.5 C

Weighing out 225grams of hops in units of 5g......That's a long time.

rte-resize-up.gif

Sudden random hopburst IPA....

Was doing a scan over the inventory last night and thought, yeah, I might make an IPA, always wanted to do so....

Then I started to check my hop stocks, lots of bits and pieces but mostly under 40g of each variety....Then I got the idea, hopburst....

Observe the madness I created this afternoon, I ditched my hop sock and had a go at doing a decent whirlpool, I think the urn needs a pickup tube....

Bloody hell mate... you were bored... looking forward to hearing what it tastes like tho... wow... :beerbang:

Brendo

You know, you could always mix them all up in a big bowl and then weigh out 30g for each addition. ;)

Looks interesting. Not sure how that mix of hops will work, but now you'll find out. :)

Tettnang
Williamette
Nelson Sauvin
Goldings, East Kent
Fuggles
Northdown
Cascade

Interesting..... Hopbursts always scare me, even the one i did i couldnt help myself but to add a bittering addition and no where near as complex as yours.

Ive still got todo my ode to 60min IPA. except im scared to use galaxy again, the 1st time i used it the passionfruit was very overwhelming. i might do a 50/50 sub with it and something else.

Maybe equal simcoe, cascade, perle and a split of galaxy+EKG... YUM

Should be interesting....

I shall report back once it's all done and bottled.....

ha ha love it! Hope you got some good music to play so you don't get bored standing over the boil for so long.

Personally, I would add some hops in the mash and a FWH addition to boost the IBUs. I reckon a good IIPA has a BU:GU close to 1.

Cheers - Snow

Snow, it's done, I actually managed to do that one in my urn as a BIAB....

Try lifting wet grain that had a dry weight of 7.1kg........I was standing on the table at the time...

The boil was easy enough, the wife had a timer running in the lounge while I was washing bottles in the kitchen with the urn behind me, I had the containers lined up and she would just yell out "hops" every time the timer went off....

That is ALOT of hop additions, feel free to send one my way for unbiased opinion :D . I have considered such a madness myself but it would have just been a partial, couldn't bring myself to it, you know, with the shortage and all :lol:

It'd be interesting to know how a Hopburst beer would age. I've taken to creating about 1/3rd to 1/2 the IBU's on my 60min addition and my beers seem to last better that way. I like a slightly maltier/sweeter beer, finish of around 1010 to 1012. If I have a lot of bitterness being added by the final hop additions I find that they dissappear quite quickly and then the beer just becomes a bit too sweet to enjoy. Thus is my experience, my beer generally lasts ~ 4wks in a keg around here.

certainly is an interesting mix of hops but i think the IBU will be fine. should be a very tasty beer. good luck!
joe

Now that's true love.

She is somewhat helpful....

She actually kept an eye on the mash while I meant to the garage to bottle, then she is the official "catcher of the bag" when I lift it out of the urn, she just slides our 15L stockpot underneath....

Plus she's a nurse, so I'm hoping I can get some new specimen jars/syringes/other useful pieces soon...

Very interesting Pollux... What brought on such creativity?

Should be nice beer, you can always send me a bottle for a critique :chug:

If ya get bored and all again that is.

Creativity was brought on by having lots of leftovers of hops, some bags had 35gram, I'm was down to 15grams cascade (more on it's way right now) others had other odd amounts...

Actually, as somewhat of a tooltard when it comes to plumbing, what would I need to chuck a pickup on my urn? It has a good amount of thread on the back of the tap, but I don't really want to have to remove the tap to take when I go shopping for parts if I can avoid it..

Just went and took one...

tap2%20001.JPG

And Jesus, my urn looks filthy when I use macro to take photos....

Easy peasy Pollux... I have all the bits plus I have the exact same urn so in exchange for some "Pollux hop burst" I will make it up this weekend and post it to ya. Problem solved :D PM me and we'll sort out the details, yeah?

Well come on... share the love!

I have the same urn and wouldn't mind putting a pickup on it as well... would be keen to know what bits I would need to do it and if I can get them a Bunnings, as my plumbing skills extend about as far as changing washers :p