What Beer Did You Make For Your Ag Cherry Popper?

NRB's All Amarillo Ale, as listed on post #1 of the BIAB guide. So easy, so tasty.

I have used the same grain bill a few times since to make other single hop ales.

I would recommend this recipe to any first timer.

mmmmm I think I was lucky enough to try that one???

+1000 for smurto's GA but I ended up using the same grain bill but used saaz and cascade with a dodgy set of scales turned out a alright though completely different to the amarillo based GA i guess. Also used a burton ale yeast which gave it some nice pear type flavours in there. Good fun!

An APA, a Sierra Nevada clone.

Recipe was for 23 litres. As is not unusual for a first time AG brewer, I undershot the volume by heaps, and ended up with only 17 litres.
Hadn't invested in BeerSmith at that stage, and yup, you guessed it, I didn't adjust the hopping schedule, and ended up with a beer you could only drink if you liked really hoppy beers.

Still drank them all with gusto and enjoyment, and even gave some to others.

My first was a nice easy stout :)

A coopers clone out of the book at the shop.

It was about 6 months ago I think. Now I do my own recipes :D

I actually did a double brew weekend for my first...
This was my cherry popper though...
My efficiency wasn't great so it ended up being a little low for an IPA but as the hop character balanced out a little it made a great pale ale, came 2nd in class at the 2007 AABC :)
Recipe: Maiden Voyage IPA
Brewer: Mooshells
Asst Brewer:
Style: English IPA
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (36.7)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 20.00 L
Boil Size: 29.25 L
Estimated OG: 1.052 SG
Estimated Color: 19.5 EBC
Estimated IBU: 60.0 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 63.00 %
Boil Time: 70 Minutes

------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
4000.00 gm Pale Malt (2 Row) UK (5.9 EBC) Grain 73.39 %
1000.00 gm Pale Malt, Maris Otter (5.9 EBC) Grain 18.35 %
200.00 gm Wheat Malt, Ger (3.9 EBC) Grain 3.67 %
150.00 gm Carared (39.4 EBC) Grain 2.75 %
50.00 gm Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L (78.8 EBC) Grain 0.92 %
50.00 gm Chocolate Malt (689.5 EBC) Grain 0.92 %
25.00 gm First Gold [7.50 %] (Dry Hop 6 days) Hops -
30.00 gm Bramling Cross [8.60 %] (60 min) Hops 33.8 IBU
20.00 gm First Gold [7.70 %] (20 min) Hops 12.2 IBU
20.00 gm First Gold [7.70 %] (10 min) Hops 7.3 IBU
30.00 gm Bramling Cross [8.60 %] (5 min) Hops 6.7 IBU
30.00 gm Bramling Cross [6.00 %] (0 min) (Aroma HoHops -
1 Pkgs Nottingham (Danstar #-) Yeast-Ale

I followed this with a variation on the Ross Nelson Sauvin Summer Ale
Recipe: Pride of Nelson
Brewer: Mooshells
Asst Brewer:
Style: English Pale Ale/Strong Bitter
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (35.8)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 22.00 L
Boil Size: 31.61 L
Estimated OG: 1.046 SG
Estimated Color: 9.9 EBC
Estimated IBU: 39.0 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 70.00 %
Boil Time: 75 Minutes

------------
4500.00 gm Pale Malt (2 Row) UK (5.9 EBC) Grain 92.78 %
300.00 gm Wheat Malt (Barrett Burston) (3.0 EBC) Grain 6.19 %
50.00 gm Caramel/Crystal Malt - 30L (59.1 EBC) Grain 1.03 %
20.00 gm Pride of Ringwood [9.00 %] (60 min) Hops 19.9 IBU
10.00 gm Nelson Sauvin [11.80 %] (60 min) (Mash HoHops 2.9 IBU
25.00 gm Nelson Sauvin [11.80 %] (Dry Hop 6 days) Hops -
10.00 gm Nelson Sauvin [11.80 %] (20 min) Hops 7.9 IBU
5.00 gm Nelson Sauvin [11.80 %] (10 min) Hops 2.6 IBU
20.00 gm Nelson Sauvin [11.80 %] (5 min) Hops 5.8 IBU
20.00 gm Nelson Sauvin [11.80 %] (0 min) (Aroma HoHops -
1 Pkgs Safale S05 (US56) (DCL Yeast #S05) Yeast-Ale

A nice safe Hefeweizen, still remember the banana and clove ummm. Thats 120 brews ago :eek:

First was a mini-BIAB Dr Smurto Golden Ale, was a bloody nice drop! My first "full" (with a mash tun, full size kettle etc) AG run was a Hefeweizen, which was a very tasty drop. It's making me think about brewing another actually!

A nice safe Hefeweizen, still remember the banana and clove ummm. Thats 120 brews ago :eek:

120? :beerbang:

Maybe with the answer of what your 1st AG was, should be how many are you up to now?

Ive done 7, not far behind Screwy, only 113 more... :unsure:

I have lost most of my records in two hard drive failures and no back ups but I remember counting 100 a couple years back, don't think it would be quite 150 but maybe close, who knows.

Can't remember all of them but every now and again something happens to remind me of quite a few of them.

My first was a biere de garde recipe I found on an american site, can't remember where though:

63% Bo Pils
21% Wey. Munich II
5% Caramunich II
0.5% Roast Barley
6.5% Brown Sugar

Bittered with a small amount of magnum and a largish addition of strisselspalt at 20 min (4g/L)

Didn't turn out to much of a BDG. Way underpitched with a vial of WLP500, though it didn't take so threw a sachet of s-04 in after a couple of days. fermented slightly warm, had faint belgian character come through, but mostly estery S-04. Consequently haven't been able to bring myself to use S-04 since. Tipped the last bottle around christmas time (18 months old). Thankfully my next AG (5 months and 9 partials later) turned out to be a ripper!

I kinda jumped into the deep end and brewed a dark Belgian strong ale.

Wasn't really much of a milestone, using 1kg of dark brown sugar and the batch size only ending up at 15L, but I could possibly be the best beer i've brewed to date! :blink:

My first was a double batch BB golden ale with amarillo, med crystal and US05 that turned out to be a brilliant 1.5 batch (learning curve on equipment .. dont try double batches in a 60L pot BIAB style first up :p )

and really enjoying it now.. and its only been in the bottle for 2 weeks and i only have 1/2 a carton left :(

Tom

My first was 45HL of Lager, followed up by another 45HL of Lager the next day.

I think I'm running out of excuses for running a simple 20L AG now.

Might just do a Pale Malt with a touch of Crystal and whatever hops in the fridge.

Went perfectly except for Cannibal Smurf and I chasing weetbix sized lumps round the urn with paddles ... now I pour in a thin stream of grain... "

And learning from this mistake, I poured my grains in a nice steady steam and got no lumps :D . My first AG (well my first ever homebrew beer actually) was Doc's Bavarian Weizen on the 9th of Feb. Halfway through it now, but still trying to balance the kegs... needs more line. But damn it tastes nice, can't wit for my next brewday in a couple of weeks. Deciding between a Belgian Wit and Trois Pistoles clone, thinking maybe a double brew day.. :huh:

edit: date

Jeez, that is going back to 2001 and I can't recall the recipe but I do know that tdh helped me immensley when he was working at Grumpys.
Fairly sure it was a special bitter however.

C&B

Since you so politely asked...

Fester's First
American Pale Ale

Type: All Grain
Date: 6/01/2007
Batch Size: 21.00 L
Brewer: Uncle Fester
Boil Size: 24.04 L Asst Brewer: Chook
Boil Time: 60 min Equipment: My Equipment
Taste Rating(out of 50): 35.0 Brewhouse Efficiency: 70.0
Taste Notes:

Ingredients

3.00 kg Pilsner (2 Row) UK (2.0 EBC) Grain 57.7 %
1.00 kg Pale Malt, Maris Otter (5.9 EBC) Grain 19.2 %
0.50 kg Vienna Malt (6.9 EBC) Grain 9.6 %
0.50 kg Wheat Malt, Bel (3.9 EBC) Grain 9.6 %
0.20 kg Caramel/Crystal Malt -120L (236.4 EBC) Grain 3.8 %
15.00 gm Amarillo Gold [9.50%] (60 min) Hops 15.7 IBU
10.00 gm Amarillo Gold [9.50%] (30 min) Hops 8.1 IBU
10.00 gm Cascade [6.00%] (30 min) Hops 5.1 IBU
8.00 gm Amarillo Gold [9.50%] (15 min) Hops 4.2 IBU
10.00 gm Cascade [6.00%] (15 min) Hops 3.3 IBU
10.00 gm Cascade [6.00%] (5 min) Hops 1.3 IBU

Bitterness: 37.6 IBU
Est Color: 17.1 EBC Color

Mash Profile

Comments

First all grain. Couldnt get the grain bill I wanted, but was desperate to have the AG ready for 42nd birthday. Ross recommended the grain bill and upped the iBU to 35. Have gone for a OG to allow for poor efficiency. HLT water heated in kettle. mash temps all over the place. Need dedicated thermometer for mash tun

Fester.

Ps: I am now 44, and am just about to sparge # 41

It's a slippery slope from here, but that is a GOOD thing! B)

[EDIT] This was still by far the best beer i had ever made to that point. It took 3 beers for me to work out compensation for my brew rig so I strike @ 64-65 each time now [/EDIT]

APA was my first which didnt really get anytime to carbonate let alone mature. 2nd was a belgian dubbel and through inexperience discovered how to bring a 1066 SG then add 1/2kg brown sugar at day three down to a FG of 1008. I learnt how to make a dry belgian threw comments of other brewers tasting this one and them asking questions of what I done to make it so dry.

Cheers Brad

A simple APA, all Cascade. To me, it was the best beer in the world. :chug: