What Are You Brewing III

Status
Not open for further replies.
Brewed this one up last night. Cube is in the fridge chilling now, ready to start tonight.
Don't you love it when you guestimate the amount in the kettle, the evaporation rate, and you still get enough for the cube + 2 starter bottles?

Prague Weekender

A ProMash Recipe Report

Recipe Specifics
----------------

Batch Size (L): 19.00 Wort Size (L): 19.00
Total Grain (kg): 4.15
Anticipated OG: 1.047 Plato: 11.771
Anticipated EBC: 9.2
Anticipated IBU: 42.2
Brewhouse Efficiency: 70 %
Wort Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Grain/Extract/Sugar

% Amount Name Origin Potential EBC
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
94.0 3.90 kg. JWM Export Pilsner Australia 1.039 3
3.4 0.14 kg. Weyermann Carapils (Carafoam) Germany 1.037 3
2.7 0.11 kg. Weyermann Caramunich I Germany 1.036 100

Potential represented as SG per pound per gallon.

Hops

Amount Name Form Alpha IBU Boil Time
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
23.00 g. B Saaz (Motueka) Pellet 6.00 25.0 60 min.
43.00 g. Czech Saaz Pellet 3.60 14.3 30 min.
23.00 g. Czech Saaz Pellet 3.60 3.0 10 min.
20.00 g. Czech Saaz Pellet 3.60 0.0 0 min.

Yeast
-----

White Labs WLP838 Southern German Lager

ESB

86.3% Ashburne mild
3.9% Simpsons medium xtal
5.9% Wey munich
3.9% Dingemans Aromatic

EKG @ 60,30,15

1098 British ale ( really like this yeast at the moment )

32 IBU

Stumbled on a cube of APA i'd forgotten about, so before I do my uk ale run, im doing another FWH/10min 2ipa. Last one was great after a few months in the bottle.

Kooks revenge 2

49.5% ashburne mild
45% best pilz
2.5% munich
2.5% med crystal

Columbus @ FWH
Centennial @ 10

Dryhopped with both.

69 ibu

Us05

Last one hit 1.012, so im expecting similar fg for this, giving around 8.5% alcomahol. Num num!!

Will be doing this tomorrow. I like to brew up a storm, get the cubes full, then relax for a month or 2!

Threw this down a couple of weeks ago and JUST bottled it...
1 x Coppers Dark Ale tin
0.5kg x Dex
0.5kg x Brown Sugar

5min Boiled
30g x Willamette
30g x Cascade

Dry Hopped
20g x Willamette
1 x Small Cinnamon Stick
1/2 x A Nutmeg, grated

Looking for a dark Christmas spiced ale...as with most of my beers which start off as experiments, this will either be pretty awesome or an abomination :lol:

Got this on the go atm:

Easy peasy Weissbier
1.7kg Mangrove Jack's International Bavarian Wheat
1.5kg Breiss CBW Wheat LME
0.2kg maltodextrin
28g German Hersbrucker hops
11g dried Danstar Munich yeast

I've got pretty severe volume limitations for boils so I mixed ~500g LME to 4L (I think I calculated this would be ~1.040 SG) and boiled half the hops in that for 30 min and added the other half with 10 min remaining. Other than that basically chucked everything into the FV and mixed. I rehydrated the yeast and pitched at 20C. There was a fair lag time and I got worried that in my haste (and disregard for sanitisation) I infected the yeast. But this morning it was crackin on with a 10cm krausen :D.

Calculated vitals:
OG: 1.053
FG: 1.014
ABV: ~5.5%
IBU: ~20
EBC: 8

I measured OG to be 1.046 which is a fair whack lower than I calculated, but no matter. Also looks pretty dark but I'll wait and see what happens by the end of fermentation (I only pitched yesterday morning).

Nelson's Brown Ale (American Brown Ale)

Original Gravity (OG): 1.062 (P): 15.2
Final Gravity (FG): 1.016 (P): 4.1
Alcohol (ABV): 6.09 %
Colour (SRM): 29.3 (EBC): 57.7
Bitterness (IBU): 47.9 (Average)

57.74% Pale Ale Malt
23.09% Abbey Malt
5.77% Chocolate, Pale
5.77% Wheat Malt
3.58% Caramunich I
2.89% Crystal 120
1.15% Midnight Wheat

0.7 g/L Nelson Sauvin (11.7% Alpha) @ 60 Minutes (Boil)
1.8 g/L Nelson Sauvin (11.7% Alpha) @ 10 Minutes (Boil)
1.8 g/L Nelson Sauvin (11.7% Alpha) @ 5 Minutes (Boil)
1.8 g/L Nelson Sauvin (11.7% Alpha) @ 0 Minutes (Boil)
1.1 g/L Nelson Sauvin (11.7% Alpha) @ 0 Days (Dry Hop)

Single step Infusion at 66C for 60 Minutes. Boil for 60 Minutes

Fermented at 20C with Safale US-05

Recipe Generated with BrewMate

Nelson's Brown Ale (American Brown Ale)

Original Gravity (OG): 1.062 (P): 15.2
Final Gravity (FG): 1.016 (P): 4.1
Alcohol (ABV): 6.09 %
Colour (SRM): 29.3 (EBC): 57.7
Bitterness (IBU): 47.9 (Average)

57.74% Pale Ale Malt
23.09% Abbey Malt
5.77% Chocolate, Pale
5.77% Wheat Malt
3.58% Caramunich I
2.89% Crystal 120
1.15% Midnight Wheat

0.7 g/L Nelson Sauvin (11.7% Alpha) @ 60 Minutes (Boil)
1.8 g/L Nelson Sauvin (11.7% Alpha) @ 10 Minutes (Boil)
1.8 g/L Nelson Sauvin (11.7% Alpha) @ 5 Minutes (Boil)
1.8 g/L Nelson Sauvin (11.7% Alpha) @ 0 Minutes (Boil)
1.1 g/L Nelson Sauvin (11.7% Alpha) @ 0 Days (Dry Hop)

Single step Infusion at 66C for 60 Minutes. Boil for 60 Minutes

Fermented at 20C with Safale US-05

Recipe Generated with BrewMate

Ive used lots of abbey in brown ales before, and they came out beautiful. Yum!!

Cubed and almost cleaned up (just waiting for the keggle to cool down)

Mild

87% MO
3% brown
3% aromatic
3% dark xtal
3% heritage xtal
1% choc

30g styrians @ FWH
10g @ cube

23 IBUs

Hopefully going to throw down my first ever APA tonight

Coopers Pale Ale Tin
1kg Dex
1kg Light Dry Malt
30g Liberty Hops (10min steep)
30g Willamette (20min steep)

All hops from Yakima Valley...going to be my summer session beer even though it will be a decent 7% per :lol:

First brew for ages (besides the GG FWKs I have on the go):

Dubbel

Type: All grain Size: 22 liters
Color: 75 HCU (~29 SRM)
Bitterness: 24 IBU
OG: 1.080 (1062 before adding candi)
FG: 1.010
Alcohol: 9.0% v/v (7.1% w/w)
Grain: 6kg Dingeman’s Pilsner
250g Dingeman’s biscuit
100g Dingeman’s Special B
200g white sugar@10
800g Belgian candi sugar – D2 syrup added post FG incrementally in 200g amounts)
Mash: 70% efficiency
TEMP: 55/62/68/72/78
TIME: 5/10/50/10/10
Boil: 120 minutes
SG 1.055 32 liters
Hops: 50g Hallertauer Hersbrucker plugs (3.7% AA, 60 min.)
20g Hallertauer Hersbrucker plugs (3.7% AA, 10 min.)

4g CaCl2 to mash and boil.

Wy 1768

Dubbel

Type: All grain Size: 22 liters
Color: 75 HCU (~29 SRM)
Bitterness: 24 IBU
OG: 1.080 (1062 before adding candi)
FG: 1.010
Alcohol: 9.0% v/v (7.1% w/w)
Grain: 6kg Dingemans Pilsner
250g Dingemans biscuit
100g Dingemans Special B
200g white sugar@10
800g Belgian candi sugar D2 syrup added post FG incrementally in 200g amounts)
Mash: 70% efficiency
TEMP: 55/62/68/72/78
TIME: 5/10/50/10/10
Boil: 120 minutes
SG 1.055 32 liters
Hops: 50g Hallertauer Hersbrucker plugs (3.7% AA, 60 min.)
20g Hallertauer Hersbrucker plugs (3.7% AA, 10 min.)

4g CaCl2 to mash and boil.

Wy 1768

What a complete waste of time, Manticle. Everyone (well, everyone that knows anything) knows, without reservation or doubt, that Australian Micro brewers are completely incapable of successfully emulating international styles, and, by logical extension, homebrewers must also, therefore, be unable to emulate international styles. No point in wasting your time (and money on the ingredients) with this. Just bugger off to your local bottle shop, and buy an imported Belgian beer. Your taste buds, your wallet, and the economy in general will thank me for it, if you follow this advice.

;) :blink: :unsure:

first brew in the new digs?

:icon_chickcheers:

Yep.

Only partially set up and taking ages because I don't know where anything is but got a day off so thought I'd have a crack. Talking of cracks, I'd better get cracking, cracking my grain - only done one kilo so far.

@Mike: I'm all for supporting the economy and the local shop for local people so I shall. What about 20 L of Rochefort 8 tipped into a fermenter then bottled again?

I know the written word is more subtle than the spoken, but please tell me I don't actually need [sarcasm] [/sarcasm] tags. :eek:

I understood you completely. My response may not have been as witty as I would have liked but rest assured my comprehension skills are dandy.

I got you. Please never use sarcasm tags, sarcasm font or too many exclamation marks in front of me or my cats.

Ive used lots of abbey in brown ales before, and they came out beautiful. Yum!!

Hello Mhe1980,

That is really fantastic to know, thanks for piping in!

I won a heap of it at the Local State Comp and wasn't sure what to do with it, thought can't go wrong in a brown. phew.....

Rob.

Dubbel

Just cubed this now.

Just about everything that could go wrong did - took me forever to find where I'd put stuff, to work out where to set up my grain mill and to get started.

Finally well after lunch time I had my esky tun, manifold and HLT going. Couldn't find anything stable to prop up the tun (sitting on a medical food trolley which is kind of my new brewstand but has a lip that means I need to prop up the tun). Finally got moving, everything going OK, stepped from 55-62 to 68 then went to the shops.

Got back, went to step to 72 with the immersion element which was making a slightly odd sound that made me nervous. Stirred for a couple more minutes then BANG!
Fuckin BANG!. Flash, smoke and me left thinking '**** I think I'm still alive. How am I going to get that wort to glycoprotein rest?"

Up the local servo to fill the gas bottle, element now in the bin. Removed most of the mash into a 15 L and heated on the stove to 72, rested then heated to 78.

Back into the tun, sparge water heating on the burner, sparge etc etc, all OK.

In the old place, I had the burner up on bricks with more bricks to hold the kettle. Being a modified keg with a concave base, it doesn't sit properly straight on the burner. However I did.'t bring bricks with me and while there are some big concretey type bricks here, the configuration can't be the same. Thought to myself 'she'll be right' as I balanced the 40 odd preboil litres (bit extra by accident) keggle on the burner and got her going.

Partner ame home from being away, wanted to chat. While she's telling me something, I hear the kind of crash I really don't want to hear of metal on concrete.

Very fortunately it was just the lid (pre-boil obviously) hitting the concrete but the entire kettle had slipped off the burner and was on a very precarious angle. Could have been a disaster, very lucky in many ways.

Transferred the wort back to the HLT (which is just a pot with a tap, same as the kettle but with a flat bottom) and got the ******* thing boiling finally.

Of course I had a boilover too since the HLT is 10 L less than the kettle and I'd overfilled. Boiled down to suitable volume, cubed and now waiting for my yeast starter.

One thing to take from brewdays when things go wrong is just to deal with it. Don't give up, don't get pissed off. Enjoy the problem solving. It'as all part of the shenanigans.

Just cubed this now.

Just about everything that could go wrong did - took me forever to find where I'd put stuff, to work out where to set up my grain mill and to get started.

Finally well after lunch time I had my esky tun, manifold and HLT going. Couldn't find anything stable to prop up the tun (sitting on a medical food trolley which is kind of my new brewstand but has a lip that means I need to prop up the tun). Finally got moving, everything going OK, stepped from 55-62 to 68 then went to the shops.

Got back, went to step to 72 with the immersion element which was making a slightly odd sound that made me nervous. Stirred for a couple more minutes then BANG!
Fuckin BANG!. Flash, smoke and me left thinking '**** I think I'm still alive. How am I going to get that wort to glycoprotein rest?"

Up the local servo to fill the gas bottle, element now in the bin. Removed most of the mash into a 15 L and heated on the stove to 72, rested then heated to 78.

Back into the tun, sparge water heating on the burner, sparge etc etc, all OK.

In the old place, I had the burner up on bricks with more bricks to hold the kettle. Being a modified keg with a concave base, it doesn't sit properly straight on the burner. However I did.'t bring bricks with me and while there are some big concretey type bricks here, the configuration can't be the same. Thought to myself 'she'll be right' as I balanced the 40 odd preboil litres (bit extra by accident) keggle on the burner and got her going.

Partner ame home from being away, wanted to chat. While she's telling me something, I hear the kind of crash I really don't want to hear of metal on concrete.

Very fortunately it was just the lid (pre-boil obviously) hitting the concrete but the entire kettle had slipped off the burner and was on a very precarious angle. Could have been a disaster, very lucky in many ways.

Transferred the wort back to the HLT (which is just a pot with a tap, same as the kettle but with a flat bottom) and got the ******* thing boiling finally.

Of course I had a boilover too since the HLT is 10 L less than the kettle and I'd overfilled. Boiled down to suitable volume, cubed and now waiting for my yeast starter.

One thing to take from brewdays when things go wrong is just to deal with it. Don't give up, don't get pissed off. Enjoy the problem solving. It'as all part of the shenanigans.

Haha classic mate!!

Status
Not open for further replies.