What Are You Brewing III

Status
Not open for further replies.
Second double batch of this inside a week. Did the last one 10/12. Tasting it in the fermenter is really nice and balanced, which is exactly what i was after so i thought, may as well get another one going. Notto's spastically fast so might be in bottles by Sunday night, drinkable by Christmas (not ideal but drinkable). Then this should be fermented by next weekend, in the keg in time for Christmas.
I've done many variants of this VERY SIMPLE grain bill, and it's quite okay to drink after 1 week. Better after a month sure, but if stocks are runnin' low at the wrong time of the year, well, i gotta drink something!

New Nelson Sauvin V2.0

Recipe Specs
----------------
Batch Size (L): 40.0
Total Grain (kg): 8.400
Total Hops (g): 48.48
Original Gravity (OG): 1.046 (P): 11.4
Final Gravity (FG): 1.008 (P): 2.1
Alcohol by Volume (ABV): 4.94 %
Colour (SRM): 4.5 (EBC): 8.9
Bitterness (IBU): 30.0 (Tinseth - No Chill Adjusted)
Brewhouse Efficiency (%): 70
Boil Time (Minutes): 60

Grain Bill
----------------
7.650 kg Pale Ale Malt (91.07%)
0.750 kg Carapils (Dextrine) (8.93%)

Hop Bill
----------------
22.1 g Nelson Sauvin Pellet (11.4% Alpha) @ 30 Minutes (Boil) (0.6 g/L)
26.4 g Nelson Sauvin Pellet (11.4% Alpha) @ 15 Minutes (Boil) (0.7 g/L)

Misc Bill
----------------
1.0 g Whirlfloc Tablet @ 10 Minutes (Boil)

Single step Infusion at 66C for 60 Minutes.
Fermented at 18C with Danstar Nottingham

Recipe Generated with BrewMate

As a noob I've been adding a bit of wheat to some simple recipes. Have you tried that at all with this one big fella?

Building a 3V rig with 70L Beerbelly kettle, 60L Techni Ice mashtun and 40L Crown Urn as HLT. Have to wait till after Xmas for Techni Ice to send me my new 60L esky. Using my HLT for a BIAB batch to hold me over till then! First time I did this recipe was as a partial and after a terrible brewday with a 19L pot it turned out to be a fantastic beer. Here we go again with full grain bill! Using the standard urn equipment profile on BSII.

Black IPA

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Boil Size: 31.37 l
Post Boil Volume: 24.11 l
Batch Size (fermenter): 20.00 l
Bottling Volume: 18.60 l
Estimated OG: 1.059 SG
Estimated Color: 61.8 EBC
Estimated IBU: 57.3 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 70.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 81.1 %
Boil Time: 90 Minutes

------------
Amt Name Type # %/IBU
4.80 kg Pale Malt, Traditional Ale (Joe White) ( Grain 1 88.9 %
0.40 kg Carafa III (1034.2 EBC) Grain 2 7.4 %
0.20 kg Caramunich Malt (110.3 EBC) Grain 3 3.7 %
25.00 g Galaxy [14.20 %] - Boil 40.0 min Hop 4 36.1 IBUs
15.00 g Citra [11.20 %] - Boil 10.0 min Hop 5 7.1 IBUs
15.00 g Galaxy [14.20 %] - Boil 10.0 min Hop 6 8.9 IBUs
20.00 g Citra [11.40 %] - Boil 5.0 min Hop 7 5.3 IBUs
1.8 pkg American Ale II (Wyeast Labs #1272) [124 Yeast 8 -
10.00 g Galaxy [14.20 %] - Dry Hop 5.0 Days Hop 9 0.0 IBUs
30.00 g Citra [11.40 %] - Dry Hop 3.0 Days Hop 10 0.0 IBUs

Mash Schedule: Single Infusion, Medium Body
Total Grain Weight: 5.40 kg
----------------------------
Name Description Step Temperat Step Time
Mash In Add 14.08 l of water at 73.1 C 66.7 C 60 min
Mash Out Add 7.89 l of water at 93.7 C 75.6 C 10 min

Sparge: Fly sparge with 14.81 l water at 75.6 C

Got 2 fermenting. One will be kegged tomorrow:
Grain bill for both is based on DSGA, but with moar grain to compensate for my shit efficiency.
The one I will keg tomorrow is my "3 way late AIPA". Hopped with cascade, amarillo, and zeus (bittering) and cascade, amarillo and simcoe @ flame out. Brewmate says 79.9 IBU's. Fermented with US-05.

The other is also based loosely on the DSGA grain bill, but trying for more of an ESB, with of EKG as the only hop and fermented with SA-04. Probably not "true to style" with the wheat etc, but it smells and tastes good so far.

*Recent bulk buy, I bought 50kg of base malt and 25kg each of the spec malts and wheat malt that the DGAS uses. Have done and will do more DSGA's, but like a bit of variation too.

Good work mate!

Im keen to try a Yak but as yet have stuck to some more plain styles..Tryin to get a nice house ale dialed with aussie flavours at the moment.

So no whirfloc....spewin its pretty useful shit.

Ill prob try yak next batch I reckon.

Did you do light or full body mash?

mash was at 66c for 90 mins (i dropped 2c during the mash)
mashout 75 for 15 min

i was away for 10 days after pitching so it spent 14 days in the primary then i dry hopped in there for another 3 days then bottled,
would definately whirlfloc/gelatine/cc next time tho

i actually just poured another one and its pretty damn close, the aroma is bang on.. mabee up the 10 min additions a touch if your keen but it seems pretty well balanced as is
im stoked with it, turned out really nice

As a noob I've been adding a bit of wheat to some simple recipes. Have you tried that at all with this one big fella?

No but i have been thinking about it. Got some Aussie Pale recipes i'd like to try, and the wheat malt is considered rather important.

On my "to brew list" :icon_cheers:

No but i have been thinking about it. Got some Aussie Pale recipes i'd like to try, and the wheat malt is considered rather important.

On my "to brew list" :icon_cheers:

Might give your recipe a try and chuck in about 5% wheat as something to do over the break. I'll drop the ale malt by the same. I like its simplicity. :beer: I'll tell you how it turned out.

mmmmmmmmmmmm fullers. Looks good. Have a few bottles left of an esb that reminds of fullers. Uses challenger, ekg and 1968 and simpsons dark crystal. Tasty.

That's great Manticle, sounds very similar, hope the results are the same.

Mashing this one in now. Should be ready for christmas day :icon_chickcheers:

Christmas Session Mild
Mild

Recipe Specs
----------------
Batch Size (L): 21.0
Total Grain (kg): 2.600
Total Hops (g): 35.00
Original Gravity (OG): 1.029 (P): 7.3
Final Gravity (FG): 1.006 (P): 1.5
Alcohol by Volume (ABV): 2.97 %
Colour (SRM): 15.1 (EBC): 29.7
Bitterness (IBU): 21.9 (Average - No Chill Adjusted)

Grain Bill
----------------
1.300 kg Golden Promise Malt (50%)
0.500 kg Munich I (19.23%)
0.400 kg Wheat Malt (15.38%)
0.200 kg Cane Sugar (7.69%)
0.100 kg Chocolate, Pale (3.85%)
0.100 kg Roasted Barley (3.85%)

Hop Bill
----------------
20.0 g Pride of Ringwood Pellet (8.3% Alpha) @ 30 Minutes (Boil) (1 g/L)
15.0 g Styrian Golding Pellet (4.4% Alpha) @ 0 Days (Dry Hop) (0.7 g/L)

Misc Bill
----------------

Single step Infusion at 71C for 60 Minutes.
Fermented at 20C with Wyeast 1469 - West Yorkshire Ale

Notes
----------------
Add styrians when pitching

Mashing this one in now. Should be ready for christmas day :icon_chickcheers:

Christmas Session Mild
Mild

Recipe Specs
----------------
Batch Size (L): 21.0
Total Grain (kg): 2.600
Total Hops (g): 35.00
Original Gravity (OG): 1.029 (P): 7.3
Final Gravity (FG): 1.006 (P): 1.5
Alcohol by Volume (ABV): 2.97 %
Colour (SRM): 15.1 (EBC): 29.7
Bitterness (IBU): 21.9 (Average - No Chill Adjusted)

Grain Bill
----------------
1.300 kg Golden Promise Malt (50%)
0.500 kg Munich I (19.23%)
0.400 kg Wheat Malt (15.38%)
0.200 kg Cane Sugar (7.69%)
0.100 kg Chocolate, Pale (3.85%)
0.100 kg Roasted Barley (3.85%)

Hop Bill
----------------
20.0 g Pride of Ringwood Pellet (8.3% Alpha) @ 30 Minutes (Boil) (1 g/L)
15.0 g Styrian Golding Pellet (4.4% Alpha) @ 0 Days (Dry Hop) (0.7 g/L)

Misc Bill
----------------

Single step Infusion at 71C for 60 Minutes.
Fermented at 20C with Wyeast 1469 - West Yorkshire Ale

Notes
----------------
Add styrians when pitching

Looks nice Brad, interesting hop combo.
I think you might end up a little higher than 1.006 at that mash temp.
Let us know haw it turns out.

andrew

Looks nice Brad, interesting hop combo.
I think you might end up a little higher than 1.006 at that mash temp.
Let us know haw it turns out.

andrew
I am a bit undecided on whether to go for the styrian or aurora/saaz. Aurora/saaz is what I would think is the most logical but I thought the styrians should work with the grain bill and yeast. If it works out I willbe able to brrw.on the big rig, but for this one I thought I would give the pillow case a run.

I just have to ask this Brad, and I'm not being a complete smart arse- what logic is that that you're using? Its a Mild isn't it, so Aurora I can grasp, but the Saaz has me confused? Or is that a combo you've used before?
BTW, sorry, I'm not going to suggest any hops varieties- my choices have been mostly shite lately and that's a real bummer with BABBs first minicomp next year being Pale and Bitter. :angry:
Didn't know you had a pillowcase, nice one and should manage that midget grainbill with ease. :icon_cheers:

Amt Name Type # %/IBU
400.00 g Caramunich Malt (110.3 EBC) Grain 1 8.6 %
326.00 g Caramel/Crystal Malt - 20L (39.4 EBC) Grain 2 7.0 %
156.00 g Munich Malt (17.7 EBC) Grain 3 3.4 %
761.00 g Corn Sugar (Dextrose) (0.0 EBC) Sugar 4 16.4 %
3000.00 g Light Dry Extract [Boil for 60 min/NA](15.8 Dry Extract 5 64.6 %
35.00 g Magnum [14.00 %] - Boil 60.0 min Hop 6 57.4 IBUs
30.00 g Crystal [3.50 %] - Boil 20.0 min Hop 7 7.5 IBUs
0.50 Items Whirlfloc Tablet (Boil 15.0 mins) Fining 8 -
30.00 g Crystal [3.50 %] - Boil 5.0 min Hop 9 2.5 IBUs
30.00 g Crystal [3.50 %] - Boil 0.0 min Hop 10 0.0 IBUs
1.0 pkg SafAle English Ale (DCL/Fermentis #S-04) Yeast 11 -

I just have to ask this Brad, and I'm not being a complete smart arse- what logic is that that you're using? Its a Mild isn't it, so Aurora I can grasp, but the Saaz has me confused? Or is that a combo you've used before?
BTW, sorry, I'm not going to suggest any hops varieties- my choices have been mostly shite lately and that's a real bummer with BABBs first minicomp next year being Pale and Bitter. :angry:
Didn't know you had a pillowcase, nice one and should manage that midget grainbill with ease. :icon_cheers:

Saaz is a fairly common variety to use in a summer ale as well so i don't think it's too out of place, although my vote goes with the Styrian

I'd vote Styrian too... earthy and spicy. Would be beautiful in a Mild.

No crystal in there Brad? I've only brewed a couple, but each time I regret not adding more Crystal for body and a little sweetness.

Cool, thanks Andrew, I didn't know that, I would've thought of Styrian well ahead of Saaz. Doing a single batch of your London Pride tomorrow BTW! :beerbang:

Mate was aiming towards more of an Aussie mild, so going for a dry malty beer. I thought the saaz would match well with the POR especially considering I will more than likely serve it way too cold on christmas day to keep the punters happy. Mashing so high should give me the body and malt and the sugar should help with bringing it back. The calcs have it finishing low but I think it should finish at 09 or 10. I am expecting it to ferment in 3-4 days then crash and keg ready for chrissy day. I will go the styrian this time but if its ok , will try the saaz next time.

No sweat Brad, sounds more feasible by the minute. Any non- brewing drinkers should appreciate that one as a mid- strength, I've always been hesitant with wheat in them but I'd be keen to hear how this one goes. You don't have any 1768 handy, might be nearly as tasty and better for the higher FG?

FWIW I'm tending back towards GP myself for most of the UK Bitters, just never quite hit the mark with Halcyon, Perle is adequate (perhaps better suited to English IPAs, which I seldom brew) but with TF MO I've not long finished a sack of it and I am pushing it way down the list, the admixture issue I encountered is the least of its worries. GP OTOH I've seldom been disappointed with.

No sweat Brad, sounds more feasible by the minute. Any non- brewing drinkers should appreciate that one as a mid- strength, I've always been hesitant with wheat in them but I'd be keen to hear how this one goes. You don't have any 1768 handy, might be nearly as tasty and better for the higher FG?

FWIW I'm tending back towards GP myself for most of the UK Bitters, just never quite hit the mark with Halcyon, Perle is adequate (perhaps better suited to English IPAs, which I seldom brew) but with TF MO I've not long finished a sack of it and I am pushing it way down the list, the admixture issue I encountered is the least of its worries. GP OTOH I've seldom been disappointed with.
Not a bad idea with the 1768 Ralph, I have a bitter waiting to be kegged and the cake would do nicely. Might save the smack pack of 1469 for a nice malty ESB.

Mate was aiming towards more of an Aussie mild, Cheers

Aussie Mild?
Ever considered Superpride for bittering an Aussie Mild Brad? In your post 2680 you give no yeast info mate (although I realise Milds are Ales) so perhaps 2042 Danish Lager yeast?
I'm no champion brewer by any stretch of the rope but have given P of R a big miss ever since Superpride arrived.
Awating all the critic's replies. :p

TP

PS --- Got a couple of P of R 90g sachets for sale CHEAP if you're keen? :D

Aussie Mild?
Ever considered Superpride for bittering an Aussie Mild Brad? In your post 2680 you give no yeast info mate (although I realise Milds are Ales) so perhaps 2042 Danish Lager yeast?
I'm no champion brewer by any stretch of the rope but have given P of R a big miss ever since Superpride arrived.
Awating all the critic's replies. :p

TP

PS --- Got a couple of P of R 90g sachets for sale CHEAP if you're keen? :D

Was originaly going to use 1469 but will now use 1768. I'm after a quick ferment so it will be ready for christmas day so lager yeast is out for this one. Have never used the superpride. I dont mind POR in aussie style beers but may get some super to give it a crack next time.

Status
Not open for further replies.