What Are You Brewing - 2014

A few months, sample bottles are your friend.

Throw them in the back of a cupboard you don't use often and you'll forget about them. Keep them away from the main brewing area if you have troubles with the samplin' rate...

G'day guys.
So this is happening tonight.
The maiden voyage] (American Pale Ale)
Original Gravity (OG): 1.043
Final Gravity (FG): 1.009
Alcohol (ABV): 4.4 %
Bitterness (IBU): 38
3kg Pale Malt
300g Wheat Malt
1kg Munich
200g Medium crystal 120
18g Simcoe (13% Aplha) @ 60 Minutes (Boil) 25 IBU
16g Chinook (13% Alpha) @ 20 Minutes (Boil) 13 IBU
15g Nelson Sauvin (12% Alpha) @ 0 Minutes (Aroma)

Mash at 66°C for 60 Minutes. Boil for 60 Minutes
Fermented at 18°C with Safale US-05
Nice simple brew.
Not sure if all my numbers are spot on, I don't have any software yet…I am using an app called brew pal. !!! hahaha.

It's my first AG brew !!! Got some jitters, but a couple of beers will sort me out !!! :beerbang:
WIll get strike water ready by 6, boil started by 7…I hope !….should be chilled and in ferm fridge by 9:30 at the latest !!!! …again…I hope !!
I have filled my head with so much info from all you blokes on this site I reckon I should go ok, but any tips are welcome !

UB

unclebarrel said:
G'day guys.
So this is happening tonight.
The maiden voyage] (American Pale Ale)
Original Gravity (OG): 1.043
Final Gravity (FG): 1.009
Alcohol (ABV): 4.4 %
Bitterness (IBU): 38
3kg Pale Malt
300g Wheat Malt
1kg Munich
200g Medium crystal 120
18g Simcoe (13% Aplha) @ 60 Minutes (Boil) 25 IBU
16g Chinook (13% Alpha) @ 20 Minutes (Boil) 13 IBU
15g Nelson Sauvin (12% Alpha) @ 0 Minutes (Aroma)

Mash at 66°C for 60 Minutes. Boil for 60 Minutes
Fermented at 18°C with Safale US-05
Nice simple brew.
Not sure if all my numbers are spot on, I don't have any software yet…I am using an app called brew pal. !!! hahaha.

It's my first AG brew !!! Got some jitters, but a couple of beers will sort me out !!! :beerbang:
WIll get strike water ready by 6, boil started by 7…I hope !….should be chilled and in ferm fridge by 9:30 at the latest !!!! …again…I hope !!
I have filled my head with so much info from all you blokes on this site I reckon I should go ok, but any tips are welcome !

UB

looks amazing mate. download brewmate to help you out. worked great for me and is free :)

Brewmate.
Sweet, thanks fletcher !

Edit….just tried to download but it won't open.
I am as useful snake shampoo with computers. I have a macbook pro, is this why I can't open it ?

Anyway.
She didn't go too bad last night.
A bit unorganised but I managed !
Was expecting 23L @ 1.043, got 26L @ 1.038
I mashed in 32L, was this too much for this grain bill ?
The full hour boil didn't get to 23L, I didn't keep boiling because it was getting late and I still had to chill it before pitching.

Tasted pretty good from the OG sample.
Hope it all pans out well.

On a hot summers day I'm sure this brew will be tastey. With 4.5kgs of grain in yr recipe I would be trying to get about 21 litres in the fermenter, 28 litres into the boil kettle and mashing in with approx 3.5 litres per kilo of grain. I sparge with enough water to then get my target amount in the kettle. All those are approximate and can be fiddled with according to yr system but is a good guide, so trying fr 23 litres may have caused the lower OG. I use Brewsmith and recommend getting some software to help you, sometimes following whats already created for you can make agreat beer :)

Yeah man. Software is a must I reckons !
Good tips on volumes, thanks !

unclebarrel said:
Anyway.
She didn't go too bad last night.
A bit unorganised but I managed !
Was expecting 23L @ 1.043, got 26L @ 1.038
I mashed in 32L, was this too much for this grain bill ?
The full hour boil didn't get to 23L, I didn't keep boiling because it was getting late and I still had to chill it before pitching.

Tasted pretty good from the OG sample.
Hope it all pans out well.
ah, just checked brewmate's website, and saw this:

[SIZE=medium]Q:[/SIZE][SIZE=medium] Will BrewMate run on a Mac or Linux?[/SIZE]
[SIZE=medium]A:[/SIZE][SIZE=medium] Possibly under [/SIZE][SIZE=medium]MONO[/SIZE][SIZE=medium], though we haven't done any real world testing yet. If you try it out please report back![/SIZE]

[SIZE=medium]i'm guessing it might not work on it properly sadly :( sorry mate.[/SIZE]

even before that, i used to use an online tool at brewtoad.com. you can make your recipes there but it's not as detailed as other programmes. now i use beersmith - which is quite hard to get used to when you're starting out, but i'm super glad i stuck with it because it's really detailed and really helps you out with a lot of things you don't even realise about the brew process. i'd recommend taking the jump and buying it, i think it was about $30 or so last time i looked.

the fact you didn't get to your post-boil volume is ok, just measure how much you boiled off as this is an important figure to factor in for your future brews. my first few were way off so you're doing ok i reckon :)

EDIT: as a general rule of thumb now i often mash and boil for 90 minutes. it's good you didn't continue boiling off as this would have then affected your IBU, because your hops would have been in there for longer. it's ok of course and can be factored in, but this is just one thing to factor in if you continue to boil so you don't expect one thing and taste another bitter-er beer! haha

Yesterday;

HOME BREW RECIPE:
Title: Russian Imperial Choc stout

Brew Method: BIAB
Style Name: Russian Imperial Stout
Boil Time: 60 min
Batch Size: 24 liters (fermentor volume)
Boil Size: 34 liters
Boil Gravity: 1.031
Efficiency: 75% (brew house)

STATS:
Original Gravity: 1.044
Final Gravity: 1.011
ABV (standard): 4.36%
IBU (tinseth): 52.09
SRM (morey): 3.46

FERMENTABLES:
4 kg - American - Pale 2-Row (86%)
0.15 kg - German - Dark Munich (3.2%)
0.5 kg - Rolled Oats (10.8%)

HOPS:
20 g - Horizon, Type: Pellet, AA: 12.5, Use: Boil for 60 min, IBU: 31.28
25 g - Vanguard, Type: Pellet, AA: 5, Use: Boil for 20 min, IBU: 9.47
20 g - Horizon, Type: Pellet, AA: 12.5, Use: Boil for 10 min, IBU: 11.34
40 g - Horizon, Type: Pellet, AA: 12.5, Use: Aroma for 0 min

MASH GUIDELINES:
1) Infusion, Temp: 37.5 C, Time: 10 min, Amount: 9 L
2) Infusion, Temp: 40 C, Time: 15 min, Amount: 15 L
3) Infusion, Temp: 60 C, Time: 20 min, Amount: 24 L
4) Infusion, Temp: 65 C, Time: 40 min, Amount: 24 L
5) Infusion, Temp: 78 C, Time: 10 min
6) Sparge, Temp: 70 C, Amount: 10 L

OTHER INGREDIENTS:
5 g - Epson salts , Type: Water Agt, Use: Boil
5 g - whirlfloc, Time: 10 min, Type: Fining, Use: Mash
500 g - Coco powder , Time: 40 min, Type: Flavor, Use: Boil

YEAST:
Wyeast - London Ale 1028
Starter: Yes
Form: Liquid
Attenuation (avg): 75%
Flocculation: Med-Low
Optimum Temp: 15.56 - 22.22 C
Fermentation Temp: 16 C
Pitch Rate: 0.75 (M cells / ml / deg P)

TARGET WATER PROFILE:
Profile Name: Balanced Profile
Ca2: 80
Mg2: 5
Na: 25
Cl: 75
SO4: 80
HCO3: 100
Water Notes:

NOTES:
Over shot first infusion was aiming for 35c.

not true to form but had to call it something Kool :super:

Scooby Tha Newbie said:
Yesterday;

HOME BREW RECIPE:
Title: Russian Imperial Choc stout

Brew Method: BIAB
Style Name: Russian Imperial Stout
Boil Time: 60 min
Batch Size: 24 liters (fermentor volume)
Boil Size: 34 liters
Boil Gravity: 1.031
Efficiency: 75% (brew house)

STATS:
Original Gravity: 1.044
Final Gravity: 1.011
ABV (standard): 4.36%
IBU (tinseth): 52.09
SRM (morey): 3.46

FERMENTABLES:
4 kg - American - Pale 2-Row (86%)
0.15 kg - German - Dark Munich (3.2%)
0.5 kg - Rolled Oats (10.8%)

HOPS:
20 g - Horizon, Type: Pellet, AA: 12.5, Use: Boil for 60 min, IBU: 31.28
25 g - Vanguard, Type: Pellet, AA: 5, Use: Boil for 20 min, IBU: 9.47
20 g - Horizon, Type: Pellet, AA: 12.5, Use: Boil for 10 min, IBU: 11.34
40 g - Horizon, Type: Pellet, AA: 12.5, Use: Aroma for 0 min

MASH GUIDELINES:
1) Infusion, Temp: 37.5 C, Time: 10 min, Amount: 9 L
2) Infusion, Temp: 40 C, Time: 15 min, Amount: 15 L
3) Infusion, Temp: 60 C, Time: 20 min, Amount: 24 L
4) Infusion, Temp: 65 C, Time: 40 min, Amount: 24 L
5) Infusion, Temp: 78 C, Time: 10 min
6) Sparge, Temp: 70 C, Amount: 10 L

OTHER INGREDIENTS:
5 g - Epson salts , Type: Water Agt, Use: Boil
5 g - whirlfloc, Time: 10 min, Type: Fining, Use: Mash
500 g - Coco powder , Time: 40 min, Type: Flavor, Use: Boil

YEAST:
Wyeast - London Ale 1028
Starter: Yes
Form: Liquid
Attenuation (avg): 75%
Flocculation: Med-Low
Optimum Temp: 15.56 - 22.22 C
Fermentation Temp: 16 C
Pitch Rate: 0.75 (M cells / ml / deg P)

TARGET WATER PROFILE:
Profile Name: Balanced Profile
Ca2: 80
Mg2: 5
Na: 25
Cl: 75
SO4: 80
HCO3: 100
Water Notes:

NOTES:
Over shot first infusion was aiming for 35c.

not true to form but had to call it something Kool :super:
A RIS at 4.4% Abv and 3.5 srm......ummm no??

More like a pale ale with cocoa powder. Goig to need to get way more (or at least some) dark and roast malts in there.

Yep half arsed attempt.
I will do a mini boil with some "dark or roast" malts.
Live and learn. Built around a box of coco powder from the bakery prolly not the best idea.

This should get brewed next weekend, with a bit of luck (still have to sort out the Apricot Sour)
Recipe: Bollux Brown Ale test
Style: Northern English Brown Ale
TYPE: All Grain
Specifications --------------------------
Boil Size: 31.09 l
Post Boil Volume: 26.82 l
Batch Size (fermenter): 22.00 l
Bottling Volume: 19.16 l
Estimated OG: 1.050 SG
Estimated Color: 35.1 EBC
Estimated IBU: 26.7 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 72.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 84.4 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes Ingredients: ------------
Amt Name Type # %/IBU
0.27 Cup Macadamia Nuts (secondary) Flavor
4.00 kg Pale Malt, Maris Otter (Thomas Fawcett) Grain 2 81.6 %
0.25 kg Brown Malt (128.1 EBC) Grain 3 5.1 %
0.25 kg Wheat Malt (Barrett Burston) (3.0 EBC) Grain 4 5.1 %
0.20 kg Chocolate Malt (Simpsons) (847.1 EBC) Grain 5 4.1 %
0.20 kg Oats, Flaked (2.0 EBC) Grain 6 4.1 %
18.00 g Magnum [14.00 %] - Boil 60.0 min Hop 7 26.7 IBUs
1.16 Items Whirlfloc Tablet (Boil 15.0 mins) Fining 8 -
28.00 g Fuggles [4.50 %] - Aroma Steep 15.0 min Hop 9 0.0 IBUs
1.0 pkg Nottingham Yeast (Lallemand #-) [23.66 m Yeast 10 -
1.16 tsp Yeast Nutrient (Primary 3.0 days) Other 11 -
Mash Schedule: Single Infusion, Medium Body, Batch Sparge
Total Grain Weight: 4.90 kg ----------------------------
Name Description Step Temperat Step Time
Mash In Add 15.81 l of water at 71.9 C 66.7 C 60 min
Sparge: Batch sparge with 2 steps (6.16l, 17.06l) of 75.6 C water

This is the first time using nuts in a brew for me, but this nut process was on the web (so you know it'll be true), lightly roast, roughly chop, then steep in boiling water 30 minutes, freeze then remove oils, put in secondary.

Whipped this one up today, my first Saison, I can hear it going gangbusters under the house as I type this, hope it doesn't keep me awake. Seem to be struggling with efficiency using BIAB, just need to start increasing the ingredients a bit, bag was pretty heavy so more would be a struggle, maybe use DME over 6Kg of grain.
Brewed Monday 3rd of February
I’ll Have One Saison
5.25 5Kg Joe White Ale Malt
50g Weyermann Cara Aroma
900g Joe White Wheat Malt
750g Joe White Vienna Malt
Mash, 22L strike temp 69 BIAB @ settled @ 65, dropped to 63 after 100 mins. Added 7L of 99 water to raise temp to 72.
10g Simcoe 11.8% @ 60min
14g Simcoe 11.8% @ 15 minute plus Irish Moss
25g Simcoe 11.8% @ flame out
est EBC 18 est IBU 31 OG 1.052 batch size 19.25L, efficiency 53%

Yeast: Danstar Belle Saison, rehydrated and pitched at 24 degrees.
[SIZE=12pt]Fermentation started in less than 5 hours, this is a vigorous yeast[/SIZE]

Yeast starter belgian Amber Ale.

42.1% dingemans pils
42.1% bb pale
4.2% abbey malt
1.1% pale choc
10.5% sugaz.

Challenger 60

22 IBU

And on top of that

Golden strong

85.1% dingemans pils
3% abbey malt
11.9% sugaz

Challenger 60

22 IBU

This is a cross breed IPA, using the malt profile of the Holgate Roadtrip as per the bottle ( All Vienna and touch of crystal ) and hopping it with a Green Flash West Coast IPA combos and bringing all that together with Wyeast 1084 Irish Ale :super:

American IPA

OG - 1.060
ABV - 6.2%
EBC - 22
IBU - 65
Eff Mash - 85%
Eff B/House - 70%
Final Vol - 21Lt

Grains

97% Weyermann Vienna
3% Weyermann Carahell

Hops

SImcoe @ 90m
Simcoe & Columbus @ 60m
Simcoe & Columbus @ 30m
Simcoe & Columbus @ 15m
Cascade @ 10m
Simcoe Columbus @ 0m - 20min Whirlpool/Hopstand
Dry Hop - 28g of each - Amarillo, Centennial, Cascade, Simcoe & Columbus for 4days after fermentation.

Yeast

Wyeast 1084 - Irish Ale - 1.3lts starter pitched at 17c - after adding pure O2 for 60seconds

Set temp to 18c, when krausen forms wait 24hrs and raise temp up 1c for 3 days ferment out at 21c. B)

Probably put this down Saturday

Steam Ale (California Common Beer)

Original Gravity (OG): 1.051 (°P): 12.6
Final Gravity (FG): 1.013 (°P): 3.3
Alcohol (ABV): 5.01 %
Colour (SRM): 6.2 (EBC): 12.3
Bitterness (IBU): 37.5 (Average - No Chill Adjusted)

90.01% American 2-Row
4.99% Carapils (Dextrine)
4.99% Crystal 40
1.1 g/L Northern Brewer (9.6% Alpha) @ 60 Minutes (Boil)
0.7 g/L Cascade (7.8% Alpha) @ 0 Minutes (Boil)

Single step Infusion at 67°C for 60 Minutes. Boil for 75 Minutes
Fermented at 18°C with WLP810 - San Francisco Lager