Vic 2007 X-mas Case Swap

...broken glass, beer, and tears ensued.

cm2, my condolences. I'm a reasonably clumsy unit so when I hear of others' disasters in the brewery, I count myself very lucky. On the other hand, I can't help thinking that my run of luck is building up to one huge disaster that involves broken glass and a trip to hospital.

And don't worry, there's still plenty of time to put another brew down.

Heaps of time. The ESB I plan to make is loaded with EKG, a hop which I think needs a minimum 4 weeks in the bottle, and I still haven't brewed mine yet. I will be in probably a week or two's time, but I haven't done it yet.

yep, plenty of time left. I still dont even know what I'm brewing yet. life's been hectic :)

thanks for the sypathies. im not normally clumsy so i feel like an absolute doofus for breaking all that beer. what sucks most is that i dont have enough 750ml bottles (only 3 left), which means going out and buying some if I cant salvage any. bloody annoying. why do I have so many 650ml bottles!!! oh well. will report back later.

I'm happy to have stubbies, that way you don't have to drink it all at once.

Rook

i dont use stubbies. i have about 250 glass 650ml (from various sources and plenty spare), had managed to accumulate 15 glass 750ml and about 60 PET 750ml. most of which already have beer in bottle conditioning.

i'll report back.

on a happy topic I felt the need to brew last night and my extract christmoose ale (recipe care of Bconnery)came out ace. all my boils ans steeping went well and somehow managed to do a small chill (put big pot into cold water in laundry sink for 5min) and when i had finished making to 23L the temp was 22-24C. perfect to pitch yeast (T58) as im fermenting at 22C. maybe god felt bad about screwing up my caseswap :p

i dont use stubbies. i have about 250 glass 650ml
Hey CM2,
I reckon you just use the 650ml bottles if you've got that many - you've suffered enough with the loss of a batch already :(
Lets not lose sight of the fact its not about quantity, but the chance to sample the quality of other's efforts.
I for one would rather stubbies (only because I have heaps that I seldom use), but will happily buy some PETs for the sake of the swap.

And another thing... Carn-a-Cats!!!!

Hi Guys, Is there any possies left at the swap party? Would love to have my beer tasted by other Home Brewers.

There is still 3 or 4 more spots, copy and paste the following list and put your name/ contribution on it in a post.

Q

1. Fenton - 2565 Kolsch- Dips and Bicks
2. Peels - Scottish Export Ale 80/ - Sausages and Bread
3. Wardhog - ESB -
4. Spillsmostofit - Belgian Dumb Blonde - Sausages and Bread
5. hairofthedog - spicy pale ale - chips or nuts
6. Maple - Rye IPA - perhaps dimmies
7. Thirsty Boy - Hefeweizen -
8. therook - Alt
9. mark_m - APA/IPA house ale - wasabi dried broad beans
10. apd - Columbus pale ale -
11. DarkFaerytale - roggenbier or back up F.E. Stout - probably pasta salad
12. Quintrex - belgian IPA? -
13. Allycat - light summer quencher - Plate O'anti-pasto kinda bits
14. Andreic - Munich Helles (if fit for human consumption) or Hefe (backup)
15. voota - smoked extra stout
16. Citymorgue2 - Hop Ale - ???
17. Hutch - Flying Dog APA - ???
18. lucas - ???
19. Chris Taylor - American Amber Ale
20. driveitlikeyoustoleit - ACA

I was thinking the same except I'm not going to be here on the 24th Nov and also my brews whilst I think are not too bad are also probably not too good... ;)

Getting feedback is a good way to improve them.

3. Wardhog - ESB -
8. therook - Alt
18. lucas - ???
21. 65 Bellett - Ordinary Bitter - Cheese and Crackers

We often have drop-off points, so you can drop off your contribution to another case-swap participant, and then pick up your mixed case swap from the kind soul taking your contribution/picking up your mixed case.

Q

Getting feedback is a good way to improve them.

Too true, so here goes my first case swap. For the record I'm K&K moving more towards extract before BIAB planned in Dec xmas hols.

3. Wardhog - ESB -
8. therook - Alt
18. lucas - ???
22. wambesi - ??? thinking about it...

Hi wambesi,

The more the merrier I say.

Hope expectations aren't too high or I might be in trouble too :eek:

Note if the election is called on 24th I might have to do the drop off as well, my wife is working on the polling booth. Trust the fscking pollies to put a spanner in the works.

3. Wardhog - ESB -
8. therook - Alt
18. lucas - ???
22. wambesi - Honey Wheat Beer

Ok might do a honey wheat beer, but then looking again Thirsty has a wheat.
But is it a sweet wheat :p

EDIT:Actually just looking into it now I lost my old recipe :( Oh well, just did up another one, hope it turns out as I wasn't this adventurous for the last one...

Mine fired up on schedule late last night and the yeasties are now happily chewing away. You should see the size of some of them - oneb had a go at one of the cats this morning!

My yeast ate your yeast!!!! :p
Yeast_attack_caseswap07.jpg

holy crap Q! what yeast is that?

i brewed my roggenbier yesterday and i'll pitch tonight after work

only one thing i can say

F#% YOU RYE MALT!

i had 4 stuck sparges even with 2 leters of rice hulls. the stuff has the consistancy of oil, i'll see how it finishes in the bottle befor i decide if i'll add it to the case, if i don't i'll make sure to bring a bottle to the swap as i'm sure not many have had a roggenbier befor

-Phill

Ok might do a honey wheat beer, but then looking again Thirsty has a wheat.
But is it a sweet wheat :p

Nothing wrong with more than one wheat. Its summertime and wheaties are good in summer. Plus they are fast to brew... so there might be a couple of "oops, I screwed my intended brew, here's a Hefe..." type incidents.

We're brewing a double batch of the Hefe around at Spill's place on Thursday - half for the swap and half for a party. So hopefully it will be half decent, or there are going to be a lot of disappointed people...

Thirsty

Last time, the fear was that everyone would be brewing Pale Ales. I don't think we need fear the wheat this time around, but they may need special exemption from the "Don't Drink Before XXX" rule.