Quantcast

Using Only B Saaz In An Pale Ale

Aussie Home Brewer

Help Support Aussie Home Brewer:

Marc One

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

Ive recently moved on from kit brewing to full extract brewing and so far am producing excellent results. The last recipe I tried was Neills Centarlillo Ale with the addition of 200g crystal malt and it was a cracker! The best brew I have ever done, and remarkably simple to put down.

Anyway, as Im a novice Im going to stick with Neills basic method for the time being and just change the hop additions so I can get an idea of some hop flavours and characteristics. Yesterday I boiled an extract using Neills Ale recipe, replacing the Centennial and Amarillo for just Cascade with 10g @ 50min, 40g @ 30min and 40g @ 5min. I also added 500g Crystal Malt and 200g of LDME this time. Hope it turns out ok.

Im planning the next one, and I have 90g of B Saaz (Mouteka) which I was going to use. I know this hop is more suited to Pilsners but will it be okay in this ale? Maybe if this is no good, would the addition of some Hallertau help producing a good end result for an ale? Cheers in advance.

Markbeer

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I've recently moved on from kit brewing to full extract brewing and so far am producing excellent results. The last recipe I tried was Neills Centarlillo Ale with the addition of 200g crystal malt and it was a cracker! The best brew I have ever done, and remarkably simple to put down.

Anyway, as I'm a novice I'm going to stick with Neills basic method for the time being and just change the hop additions so I can get an idea of some hop flavours and characteristics. Yesterday I boiled an extract using Neills Ale recipe, replacing the Centennial and Amarillo for just Cascade with 10g @ 50min, 40g @ 30min and 40g @ 5min. I also added 500g Crystal Malt and 200g of LDME this time. Hope it turns out ok.