trying to get a brew into a commercial 50L keg

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pump21

Reaction score
Hi guys.
Im new to home brewing. I have a kegerator setup at home and have been using commercial 50 litre kegs. But im trying to learn to make my own beer, I have put a brew down at home but just trying to get ideas from people of how to get it into a 50 litre keg once fermentation is done so the beer is going to the bottom of the keg and not getting too much air mixed in
Cheers in advance

Just fill it through your keg coupler using the co2 inlet to vent. To clean the keg do the same but turn the keg upside down and pump hot caustic through it.

Ok thanks for your help. Is that the best way to sanitise the keg

Not the best way to sanitise a keg but one of the simplest ways to clean one on a home brew or small commercial scale. After the caustic wash follow with a rinse and phosphoric wash.

Cleaning is important. But use caution....Caustic is dangerous.

If there are any micros near you they might let you use their keg washer.

Americans call them sanke kegs. So google CIP sanke keg and you will see how others do it.

When filling make sure you purge the keg of oxygen before you put the beer in. Pump co2 in then let the gas out a few times.

Ok. Once I have done that how do I keep the oxygen out whiletrying to get the beer in from the tub

[SIZE=11pt]If you’re concerned about that you can purge the keg first with co2.[/SIZE]

Caustic doesn't exactly sound like the best stuff to be mucking around with. Is there any other was to sanitise the keg

Gravity should work if you open the gas side. Co2 is heavier than o2 so it will always sit at the bottom. Put your fermenter up high and use a siphon or tube from the tap to the beer side of the coupler.