The need to just let things sit.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewermp

Reaction score
Hi fellow Brewers.. I've been brewing for about 3 months now and I think I've found that "mantra" (not sure if that's the right word) where I don't feel compelled to check up on my beer every 2 minutes. Is this normal. Am I too complacent? What are people's frequency of visits to check up on fermentation?

I check every few days at the start, then let it do its own thing for a week or 2

brewing needs patience, poking at it won't help, let it be man

I check it the day after pitching then once a week after that. Then again on the two week mark and the day after that to make sure gravity reading is the same.

I'm a very patient person so brewing is great for me :)

I pitch my yeast, then check it one day later for activity, then at 1 week(while dry hopping) then at 2 weeks ( cold crashing) then at 3 weeks (bottling). I believe I have my technique down enough to let the brew do its thing. it makes brewing more relaxing.

Meh. Nowadays I only head to the shed at the start of fermentation and at the end. Seems a bit of a wank to run down there every ten minutes like it's a newborn child.
And anyway, the CCTV footage plus Brewpi datalogging will alert me via the web server of anything more than a .25 degree Celsius variation in the predicted fermentation pattern versus ambient temp divided by Pi.
RDWHAHB.

Camo6 said:
Meh. Nowadays I only head to the shed at the start of fermentation and at the end. Seems a bit of a wank to run down there every ten minutes like it's a newborn child.
And anyway, the CCTV footage plus Brewpi datalogging will alert me via the web server of anything more than a .25 degree Celsius variation in the predicted fermentation pattern versus ambient temp divided by Pi.
RDWHAHB.