Stringy Bark - Us05

Brewer Pete you have certainly got me interested in having a go at a mead. Will leave it till next summer as it's a bit cold down here in Tassie at the moment. What do you reckon about using Leather wood Honey? Or do you think it would be a bit overpowering in a mead. Have made a few Porters with Leatherwood, very nice.

Brewer Pete , you certainly have posted some and inspiring and good information on meads

I going to have to make some Orange Blossom mead

How do you know the honey is genuine Orange Blossom ?

Pumpy :)

I only bought 3k of Orange blossom and the same of one other variety, i wouldn't like to mix them so i will have to either buy more honey or make a smaller batch...
The bread yeast i can get easily, in fact i have a container of bread yeast in the freezer (for making bread frozen yeast works fine), but i will probably buy fresh yeast for the mead.

Brewer Pete you have certainly got me interested in having a go at a mead. Will leave it till next summer as it's a bit cold down here in Tassie at the moment. What do you reckon about using Leather wood Honey? Or do you think it would be a bit overpowering in a mead. Have made a few Porters with Leatherwood, very nice.

I have not had a Leatherwood honey yet to be able to comment on it. I will keep an eye out for it. Apply the standard rule, if it tastes good and smells good, its a Mead candidate.

Fermentation temperature control applies to good Meads as it does with good beers. I have not experienced a summer in Tasmania, but I wouldn't want to brew in a Canberra summer unless I have a temperature controlled brewing fridge ready to go.

Brewer Pete , you certainly have posted some and inspiring and good information on meads

I going to have to get some Orange Blossom mead

How do you know it is genuine ?

Pumpy, I always assume you mean honey when you ask about varietals + the word mead :p

Orange Blossom if you have had some you will know the flavour. But as with all honey its so complex its hard to describe. If you buy small quanties from multiple suppliers and they all taste very agreeable to each other you know you have a good reasonable expectation you are dealing with the varietal listed on the jar. You'll also probably find one you prefer more than the other in taste or aroma than the others. You should be able to detect a slight citrus aroma and slight fruity taste mixed in with the other honey flavours.

I have two Stringy Bark JAOs so don't get hung up on one particular varietal. I missed the orange blossom honey at the Farm, so I got the Stringy Bark to play with and put my name on the list for Iron Bark which was due to be harvested a month after my first visit. 5 weeks later I had my Iron Bark.

I may start two Iron Bark JAOs just to have a comparison base, but my Iron Bark already came in a kilo under order as there was less collection this season and the bigger buyers got preferential treatment.

US-05 is an exceptional Ale yeast to brew out Meads with. Adds a hint of banana and clove taste to your mead to improve the fruity taste and leaves a sparkle hint on the tongue. European ale yeasts are out, along with a lot of other beer yeasts. Good old US-05 seems to take the cake. Outside of the ale yeasts you have the wine yeasts which a lot of people use for Meads. Lalvin D-47 is very popular with Mead brewers. I've seen 71B-1122 yeast used in fruit Braggots.

Other yeasts I see used are Montrachet (CraftBrewer is one of the few I've found with this, also the yeast needed to make German Apfelwein tasting cider from straight apple juice), Champagne , Premier Cuvee, Blanc. I find the BrewCraft stocked stores don't seem to sell anything except house product. I have SN11 from Vintners Harvest but this is basically a champagne yeast. I just have not got around to trying SN11, but I would prefer using CL23 and CY17 first based on what I've read of their data sheets. With honey must amendments you can run all these yeasts with no worries about stuck fermentations issues that would normally mark them down on a fruit wine datasheet as less desirable for Meads.

There is only one piece of equipment left to get if you really want to be a Compleat Meadmaker, that would be a pH meter and to also customise the pH level before pitching in the yeast. pH will drop as fermentation happens but starting near 3.9 to 4 should be a good mark to aim for. Once you are at this level of brewing there isn't anything out there that is fermentable that you wont be able to turn into a perfect yeast environment and get the fermentations time down to beer levels.

I'm not adjust pH on this brew yet as I don't have a pH meter. Thats saved for the next acquisition.

Brewer Pete

I only bought 3k of Orange blossom and the same of one other variety, i wouldn't like to mix them so i will have to either buy more honey or make a smaller batch...
The bread yeast i can get easily, in fact i have a container of bread yeast in the freezer (for making bread frozen yeast works fine), but i will probably buy fresh yeast for the mead.

5 litre fermenters of JAOs use about 1.6kg of honey, it finishes sweet, so you could scrape by doing two of those. Actual liquid volume totals out to 3.82 litres of honey must when you stop adding water to the demijohn and then add your 8 orange slices, raisins and clove.

I can post the JAO recipe here. I have one thats been passed around many times and is quite full of "attitude" which made me chuckle as it seems to be directed at people that can not follow directions, like those who think you absolutely need to get rid of the bread yeast and put in an ale yeast instead which ruins the whole balance of the recipe.

Next time I make a JAO I will take a Refractometer Brix reading and get you exact gravity points so you can determine approximate ABV potential.

Just running the numbers through my head.

1.6 / 1.425 = 1.12 litres.
3.82 - 1.12 = 2.69 litres.
You are looking at a Starting Gravity around 1.124, very very sweet sack mead :)
For comparison I am using a 1.100 Starting Gravity target and will get about 12-13%
JAO is relying on reaching the alcohol limits of the yeast and have them flocculate while keeping residual sugars high.

Brewer Pete

Oh and flattop, go to the American Store in Bentleigh since you are in Melbourne. If you can score a packet or two of fleischmann's brand yeast from America you have scored big. That is the exact strain of yeast JAO is formulated for with Orange Blossom honey.

Brewer Pete

Following on with the fermentation:

9th, May
----------
Starting Brix (OB): 23.2

10th, May
----------
Time: 4:32PM
Observed Refractometer Reading (AB): 23.2
Temperature: 18 Degrees C
Adjusted SG (Ethanol Effect & Temperature): 1.096
Adjusted Brix (Ethanol Effect & Temperature): 22.8

11th, May
----------
Observed Refractometer Reading (AB): 22.9
Temperature: 19.5 Degrees C
Adjusted SG (Ethanol Effect & Temperature): 1.094
Adjusted Brix (Ethanol Effect & Temperature): 22.4

12th, May
----------
Time: 5:07PM
Observed Refractometer Reading (AB): 22.3
Temperature: 17 Degrees C
Adjusted SG (Ethanol Effect & Temperature): 1.089
Adjusted Brix (Ethanol Effect & Temperature): 21.3

23.2 - 21.3 = 1.89

Gentlemen we are getting very close to 2nd Nutrient and DAP addition time! I'll take a reading later tonight and see if it pushed over the 2 Degrees Brix point. However, because it is fermenting cool and slow, and we have a window of 2 to 3 Degrees Brix, I might go easy on myself and just take a reading tomorrow morning or tomorrow after work.

Brewer Pete

I just have to add these temperatures I am posting are Refractometer reading temperatures after the must has come up to temperature of the Refractometer. The actual fermentation is happening a lot cooler, locked away in the dark, in the coldest part of the house.

Peter

9th, May
----------

10th, May
----------

11th, May
----------

12th, May
----------

13th, May
----------
Time: 3:15PM
Observed Refractometer Reading (AB): 21.5
Temperature: 19 Degrees C
Adjusted SG (Ethanol Effect & Temperature): 1.084
Adjusted Brix (Ethanol Effect & Temperature): 20.1

23.2 - 20.1 = 3.1
--------------------
2nd Nutrient addition now going in.
Adding 6.3 grams of DAP
Adding 6.3 grams of Bintani Yeast Nutrient

Rich and creamy krausen, lost of thick live top forming clumps of yeast.

Gentlemen, Active Fermentation has now commenced.

Just looked in on the fermenter before bed. All I can say is wow, never seen such a thick lovely krausen like this before. Super healthy fermentation has taken off, a pillowy foamy dream with no abiliy to see a single sign of the liquid must through all that luxurantly thick krausen and loaded with masses of yeast. Rock on you meady yeasts!

Best active fermentation I have got to date!

Ok first some data showing the Fermentation just kicking off into high gear even though temps are really low, and then a little Honey Porn!

Following along with the fermentation:

9th, May
----------

10th, May
----------

11th, May
----------

12th, May
----------

13th, May
----------

14th, May
----------
Time: 4:52PM
Observed Refractometer Reading (AB): 20.5
Temperature: 18.5 Degrees C
Adjusted SG (Ethanol Effect & Temperature): 1.077
Adjusted Brix (Ethanol Effect & Temperature): 18.5

We are already hitting about 3.11% ABV and climbing.

HONEY PORN TIME
----------------------

I got the camera batteries charged but not in time to get the krausen that formed after the 2nd Nutrient addition went in.

This is one day after the 2nd Nutrient Addition:
MegaMeadKrausen.jpg

Brewer Pete

Following the ferment:

9th, May
----------

10th, May
----------

11th, May
----------

12th, May
----------

13th, May
----------

14th, May
----------

15th, May
----------
Observed Refractometer Reading (AB): 19.6
Adjusted SG (Ethanol Effect & Temperature): 1.070
Adjusted Brix (Ethanol Effect & Temperature): 17.0

it looks like I will be adding the 3rd and last Nutrient Addition in another 2 or 3 days of fermentation if it keeps up at this rate!

Brewer Pete

There's an American store in Bentleigh? i pass through there every few weeks i must try to find it....
I won't get time for Mead this weekend, i have motorbike lessons and i need to clean the garden up... it's been on my to do list for weeks

From the Jasper Road intersection side go East down Bentleigh Road, cross over the railroad tracks. It was either the 1st or 2nd street turn right and its about 3rd or 4th store on the left.

Brewer Pete

Will try to remember to look for it next time i'm down that way... off Center rd is it? Jasper runs North South if i'm correct...

Oh buggar!

They shut down the Bentleigh store and have moved to Moorabin.

Here is the website now (bloody high Bentleigh rents I guess, shut down quite a few shops on Centre Road due to rent being too high to stay in business!): USA Foods in Melbourne

Brewer Pete

EDIT: Best to just ring them on the phone and see if they got it before you ride over.

Better for me i go to Moorabbin more often... i know Cochranes rd well

Following the ferment:

9th, May
----------

10th, May
----------

11th, May
----------

12th, May
----------

13th, May
----------

14th, May
----------

15th, May
----------
Observed Refractometer Reading (AB): 19.6
Adjusted SG (Ethanol Effect & Temperature): 1.070
Adjusted Brix (Ethanol Effect & Temperature): 17.0

16th May
----------
No Reading Today as I thought I was coming down with a cold so played it safe leaving the Mead be.
Turned out to just be a touch of a sore throat that went away the next day.

17th, May
----------
Time: 4:20PM
Observed Refractometer Reading (AB): 17.8
Adjusted SG (Ethanol Effect & Temperature): 1.057
Adjusted Brix (Ethanol Effect & Temperature): 14.0

Perfect predictability, looks like tomorrow we will hit our 1/2 sugar break and I will add the last of the yeast energizer and yeast nutrient additions.

Sample size is only 1 mL drawn in the pipette but with only 2-3 drops for a reading, the remainder gives a small squirt on the tongue sample and the Mead is definitely starting to pick up some lovely alcohol components est: 5.7% ABV and climbing.

It is hard to believe it is only 7 to 8 days into the fermentation. This beats waiting 9 months for a primary fermentation to complete!

Brewer Pete

I haven't started yet, work commitments have kept me away from my LHBS so no Demijohns... I probably will gear up for another AG brew in 2 weekends so i will try to pick up that and the oranges then.... finally maybe i will get around to getting the mead on tap, i want to drink it (mature) over summer so i need to pull my finger out.