STEP BY STEP: DIY AG on the cheap

and

So you did take a few things away from my brew day... well done!! :ph34r:

Brendo

There was that plus a good feed plus learning the things I was doing wrong plus confirming the things I was doing right plus meeting enthusiastic brewers plus donating to a good cause plus drinking your beers.

New Brewer's motto: There's always something that cocks up.

Galaxy has fermented out now I think (was 1012 yesterday so will give it another day or 2 then crash chill). Didn't get a chance to secondary ferment but it should still be a winner (sample yesterday was lovely).

Well done Manticle. l just love the way tight arse AGers are so clever in coming up with ways to make good beer,you don't have to have all the bells and whistles and shiny porn to do it with. If you are passionate enough you can make great beers. :icon_cheers:

Cheers here's to you Manticle

Mike (BB)

Loved the post Manticle, i'll be right behind ya champ i've decided too go with my esky for the tun i will go a similar set up like yours until i get more finance or win lotto :beerbang: . Thanks mate.

@Nickel: Best of luck to you boss. Just remember all the obstacles are part of the fun even if it doesn't seem that swearing in the rain at a half finished tun is actually fun.

@BB - I'm tightarse entirely through necessity but I agree: passion is the key to a lot of things.

Only on this post could I say that you are the tightest arse yet and not get funny looks from people :D

Keep up the good work and get to brewing,
not using it is brew gear abuse!

Brewer Pete

:icon_offtopic: Being that this is an 'on the cheap' thread, it should be mentioned for people who want to start down this path that council clean-up days are a goldmine for old eskies. There was one in my area recently, and I must have seen at least 10 eskies out on the street within a kilometre of my house, many with lids.

Keep up the good work and get to brewing,
not using it is brew gear abuse!

Brewer Pete

As mentioned I brewed a big stout the day after and this weekend should see my all apple cider and SMASH pilsner get underway. After that I'll need to wait for fermenter space.

Buy a No-Chill cube and you can still brew.... Store cube until fermenter space is up!

I have got one (and will get more - cheap as chips) but I need to drill out a tap on my boil pot before I can utilise it properly - otherwise I'll be pouring hot wort into it which seems wrong.

Seeing as my current boil pots are one 10 L and one 15 L, I'm going to invest in a 30 L before I start doctoring one of them.

Good point and wise.. not to pour hot wort!!

Sorry, oversight on my behalf - just trying to help!

Anyway, get a real kettle with a real tap and all will be good in the world :p :lol:

Can you siphon hot wort? Anyone? might be an answer......

Again, good work mate - If I had 'K' for brekky I would have never have done AG! ;)

G'day Mantic-ale,

was wondering if there was anything else you, or anyone else for that matter, found particularily helpful in getting a good grasp on setting up a tun and AG brewing?? I feel as though I have a pretty basic grasp of AG from bits i've read on forums here and there but guess I do need to make a bit of a push to be able to put it into practice and would appreciate any suggestions. Maybe i've even missed some good discussion on this site! Alright cheers,
Lewy

Most of what I've learned came from Palmer's how to brew and being a regular on this site.

I also found it useful to do a few partial mashes as I got the gist of the grist s to speak, without having the mash as crucial as with an All grain.

There are some really useful articles in the wiki section. It's also a great idea to watch someone else do it.

As for building the tun - I kind of winged a lot of it but palmer has a great section on building a manifold and yardy (forum user) linked to a step by step of him making it (with photos). I'll see if I can dig it up.

Most of what I've learned came from Palmer's how to brew and being a regular on this site.

Yep. Basicbrewing podcasts are interesting and informative, as well. (it was actually Muckey getting the BB dvd that pushed me into AG....it only took him a year or so after that to get off his fat @$se and follow :lol: )

But there is soo much info on this site.....simple answer is to read. Go to the article section, and read it.... all (article contributors tend to get a bit $hitty, even if they don't voice it, when people post a question for the umpteenth time, when it's clearly mentioned in the article that they took so long to write.)

Go to the partial and AG section, and browse through the post titles...there are sooo many 'first AG' threads, detailing peoples experiences, questions, and requests for clarification....in fact, I think that the "my first AG" threads hold sooo many little gems....because something unexpected comes up on a virgin brew, it gets mentioned in the thread, and more experienced brewers pop up with the answer. It also helps put things in perspective for new brewers, as experienced brewers sometimes can't help themselves, and get a bit technical without even thinking about it...

And one other thing....do you currently steep grain? If so, then try to keep in mind one truism....mashing grain is not entirely dissimilar to steeping grain. It's just an extension of it....
to quote Beerfingers quoting myself...."it's not F$%^ing rocket science". :lol:

Manticle,

That is inspiriational. I thought of that brand new esky the mother-in-law has just given me, and how perfect it would be to drill holes into! I've been wanting to go AG for a while now, and was debating and researching the BIAB method, but i think i'm now sold, seeing this.

Come September, i should hopefully be AG!

Phil

Cheers for the replies Manticle and Butters,

Even after posting on here I've found some very useful old threads esp on BIAB. I think I'll look into getting a 40L urn and try my luck at some sewing further down the track.

I most certainly do steep grain and though I've done a wide amount of reading, you're spot on buters, the technicality comes out sometimes and I get lost! Part of it is trial and error with threads and it just depends on where you dig to find the gems! I think sorting out how to find the gems is part of difficulty but I'm getting there, I'll be sure to post my first AG success/failure in due course!

Glad my less than technical set-up has inspired a few.

@ power wolf - if you want to know anything about BIAB, BribieG is the man with the knowledge and experience and usually willing to pass it on if you ask nice. Searching first is always great. There's also that great thread which I guess is the one to which you're referring. Whatever your method you'll find plenty of people willing to help you along the way.

Best of luck Phil.

Just bottled my blended Amarillo amber and my strong milk stout.

Both are tasting fantastic so far, at least to me (both should be in the botttle a few more weeks minimum) . I'll be interested to get some feedback from other brewers I know but the hardest thing is going to be leaving any for them.

I'm super glad I made the effort but I'm also glad I took my time about it.

Brewed inside on the stove again today while the lady was out due to stormy conditions this morning. Personally I like the smell but I can understand why it's less than welcome.

Awesome news, manticle.

Here's to more beer-related happiness! :icon_cheers: