Newbie At Brewing, Tips?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Phizinza

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to brewing. I've helped my dad a few times brewing coopers kits. But thats pretty much all I've experienced.
My soon to be brother in law's brother brews beer, nice beer. I had one of his weizenbock's and I really would like to attempt to make something similar. It looks like going for a style like this can't be done with a kit. So I've found a few recipes and online stores with all the ingredients. Most of the ingredients don't come in extract form so it has to be grain.
Anyhow, I only have simple brewing equipment at my disposal and I'm not too keen on spending big as I have no money for that. I've read quite a lot and watched a lot of videos on youtube etc on how the whole process works. Just wondering if you have to use things like a strike pot, mashing pot and boil pot with custom gas burners coming out your eyeballs or if it can be done on a stove with a couple of large pots? Is a heat transfer really needed? When I bottle a beer like this, I do it like a kit and use sugar or glucose in each bottle? Seems most people keg so the remaining steps for bottling are missing on all the recipes I've seen.
And finally, am I getting in over my head? I never like starting at beginner level, I prefer coming in a few steps up and learning quickly. Do my research before hand and give it a good proper go.
Oh, and is there must have items when AG brewing that aren't needed with kits or extract brewing?

read into BIAB (brew in a bag)

for a new brewer wanting to get into AG, it is considerably easier than traditional methods

Wow, you guys are quick. Thanks.
I remember seeing a video of this, but I didn't realise what it was for or why they were putting it all in bags. It makes sense now. Reading that PDF now. Cheers!