New to brewing - Which kit?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rossbaker

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm very new to brewing... I don't even have any gear yet! I'm planning on gearing up soon, but wondering what gear experienced brewers would recommend for a first timer? Is there anything people often end up with that should be avoided?

It seems most people start off with a Coopers kit. Would that be a good way to go? I'm also open to sourcing some used gear or going down a more DIY route (what's more DIY than home brewing anyway?).

I'd love to get into all grain and BIAB down the line, but I've read people's advice about keeping things simple at first, and fully plan to try to stick to that motto.

So, what say the brew gods?

Ross

Where abouts in Melbourne are you?

Folks here could then recommend a local store that would supply your needs.

Any beers styles you're keen on?

I'd definitely recommend a local store over a coopers kit.

Not for any reason other than having a chat about the items you are buying and they can usually give you a sheet or something to guide you on what to do for better beer, not "easy" beer. Things like recommending healthy fermentation with temperature control etc.

It also starts up a bit of a relationship with the person running the store, which can be quite handy when you have issues, or need advice.

Coopers kit is a fine way to start and build up from there… if you want to jump right in get a big w pot and start steeping a few grains as well…

Thecpale ale can was my go to can when I started, fond memories indeed, steer clear of the brew enhancers and go all malt + hops and your winning…

Enjoy