Need More Beer!

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zoidbergmerc

Reaction score
Hey guys,

Long time lurker and first time poster. I'm pretty new to brewing so please excuse the newbie questions.

I've been making beer now for about 6 months and been having a blast just using kits, extracts and hop tea bags, plus I've either been doing it right or have been very lucky as I havn't had a bad batch yet :D. ATM I'm making an Amber Ale which is very sweet and has a very hard caramel hit in the first mouthful which is nice, plus it's nice and sweet so the Mrs likes it too. Also making a wheat beer, trying to copy Moo Brew's Hefeweizen (Don't know if you get that on the mainland) and while I'm ages away from the taste I'm after I'm still making a really nice beer.

But I recently obtained a new housemate and now my beer consumption rate has doubled, plus he drinks a few beers too, so the obvious thing to do is to brew more beer, so I got my self a couple of 60L fermenters, I just have to ask, if I'm making a 46L batch as opposed to a 23L batch, I simply double the ingredients and that's it? Do I double the yeast as well or is that unnessasary?

Also, I was talking to some yokel at the pub the other day who also makes his own beer with Kits and he was saying my method for brewing was totally wrong and he was suprised it works at all. What I do it just get 5L of hot (not boiling) water into my fermenter and then add the extracts into that and stir it around until it's all dissolved then fill the fermenter with cold filtered water untill it's up to 23L by this time it's at 24 degrees so I add the yeast to the top of the wort and then seal him up. Then come back when the fermentation is done and bottle it. Should I be doing something different? I'm at the moment under the mentality "If it aint broke don't fix it"