Malt Specifications

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MHB

Reaction score
After being down for a long time its nice to see that the Bairds website is back up.

Bairds Malt

Thomas Fawcett

I just wish they would both put a bit more detail in the specifications.

MHB

thanks for the links MHB,
Fawcetts specs quote for MO, EXTRACT LITRE / KG MIAG 2 AS IS

how do we apply this on a smaller scale for the HB ?

also, does any of that apply to diastatic power ?

cheers
Yard

Thanks for the heads up MHB, there's a fair bit of data though on the Bairds site, what's missing? (Complete noob to AG, I am. Can you tell?! ;) )

But, well bugger me, Bairds actually have a maltings in Arbroath. :blink: I have relatives there and I stayed with them for a couple of months a good while back and we cycled past what I guessed was a maltings but I didn't give it much thought then and there. Some right beautiful countryside is the Angus district, I just loved being there in winter.

I've never knowingly used their malts, (up to now I've done mostly k&k and extracts) but I will do in future now that I know about their maltings, so now its looking even brighter for moving into partial & AG. CraftBrewer have an extensive Bairds inventory- jolly good!

And their Inverness plant is doing peated malt again too and also organic. Not big on peated myself although some of the whisky is fair dinkum and will just rock your socks, but I was largely off the turps when I was there (on doctor's orders) so I didn't sample much of it in any detail. My colleague Alasdair who hails from Inverness (AKA 'Jimmy', of course) could do the spirits justice though and with gusto, but what's got me stuffed now is why he drinks that Gold cat piss here in Oz even though he home brewed ages ago, so knows at least a bit about it. :wacko:

Slainte!