Limited Specialty Grains.thoughts Please

Its funny i have even see hard core mashers eat there word about dried yeast after trying tasting a beer done with notingham.

Bigd go 6.5 kg ale malt all up for a 25litre brew at og 1.065 or there abouts should be around 7.5 kg all up
which your recipe will be if you add yet another kg of base malt.
also don't forgot double the hops on the end.

jayse

total tight squeeze jayse.
but youve got me thinking anyway.can i max my tun out.?????
spose so. :blink:
no doubt will dream on it and wake up at sparrows fart and get the napaki dreaming ipa under way ;)

zen you said.mmmm i thought
ima feeling it right now.
be one with your brew. :ph34r:

let ya know tomorrow how it a turn out <_<

max it out bigd. you need 1.065
so if you have to use a six pack esky or something to hold the rest during the mash then do so.
use anything you can but make sure you get 1.065.
just add the rest to the mash when you sparge and the level goes down.

jayse

Randal randal he's our man if he can't do then............mmm maybe get a AHB guy too.

eskys i have plenty of jayse.could piggy back them up to reach desired grain bill.good idea jayse.
fun day tomorrow coming up.
im thinking piggy back sparging.cascade effect.mmmmm long night.

i'd just do it by adding the other esky load when you sparge.
i have over flowed my 50 litre tun with a double batch of this beer.
i just grapped a kettle and a few pint glasses and whatever else i could find to hold what was not gunna fit then just tipped tham all in when the level went down in the sparge.

when i did it it was funny because i didn't calc tun volume so i just added all the water needed than started to add the grain.
the funny part was that the tun ended up full before all the grain got in.

jayse

well lets do an aussie version and give randall an aussie name.
when i get the pic posted maybe a poll for the aussie version of randall name.?

cactus brain again got no thoughts

gazza the hop inducer
or nugget the oil adder.
wozza the S/S MONSTER

i don't know iam all cactus too. bloody spend too much time on this bloddy site.+

it would have to be, frank, barry or dazza :lol:

mmm no a bazza that i work with and he wouldnt work in an iron lung.
will give it more thought as i squeeze heaps of malt into my tun.
reckon the herb/hop addition will give me thought B)

just lunging down a FHH myself.
thats a First Herb Hop straight to the lungs.

JAYSE

Now is time to leave AHB for the nite i'd like to thank everyone for coming and i wish all sweet dreams of 60 hop additions.

jayse

got up at 5.30 am.hung over :( and got the hlt on then went back to sleep then up again to get it under way.
final recipe

6.5 kg jw pale malt

.380 gms munich was wanting .500gms but this was all i had left.

.115 wheat

.200 crystal

20g simcoe @ 60 m
30g hopblend @ 40m
30g hopblend @ 20m
30g hopblend @ 10m
60g hopblend @ flame out

whirlfloc tab @ 15m

hopblend was 50% cascade 50% amarillo

danstar nottingham yeast(starter) jeez this yeast smells nice.

90 min boil

could only manage o.g 1.060

big d gotta go clean the mess up soon :(

and this is the maxed out mash tun getting batch sparged.not much room at all for another k or so

mash_tun_max.jpg

holy cr@p thats one maxed out mash tun :) well done.

recipe looks good as well, might have to scale it back to a bonk sized brew and have a go at it. B)

oh what a beautiful sight.
And I'm stuck at work :angry:

Even more well done with a hang over :D

Good work bigd.
Did you reach any enlightenment with the Zen brew?
Brewing feeling like a zombie wouldn't have helped much though.
5.30am.... my god you must be knackered at least it sounds like everything went well.
Mine will be done tommorow but not that early.

jayse

no enlightenment jayse.
but couldnt stop sniffing the hops.
told the wife i was just tired but really just badly hungover.
the brew went well so now im hanging out for a bit of fermenting so i can taste it as it goes.
next time will be sober and maybe can get some zen with the brew. :rolleyes:

cheerss