Kits to all grain soon

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ibrew4me&u

Reaction score
Hi All, I have been brewing kits for a couple of years now and am looking take the jump into all grain. Any recommendations on all grain setup? Maybe BIAB next step? I have a whole room in my house ready to go :D

Give BIAB a go first and see if it's for you, imho
The brew shop in Lismore has grain, but if you're happy to make a longer drive, iBrew at Goldy has a pretty big range

Depends how much you want to spend. Biab is cheap and highly effective. A grainfather will make life very easy for you and make it easier to brew consistently good beer.

I have been looking at the Grainfather but it might be a bit expensive for me atm

The robo brew could be a cheaper option.

Until I get the chance to put my 3v together (never ending house move) I'm BIABing with a 2nd hand 40L Birko urn, a hand full of clothes pegs and a doona. Its not what I'd call my "dream rig" but I'm making decent beer, hitting my numbers and having fun learning with different grain & hop additions. (Easy clean up too)
There's oodles of All Grain brewing methods, the above is just one povvo <$200 way of doing it.
Jump into All Grain however you can, you won't regret it.

Crown urn for BIAB is a great way to go... Less than $300 from memory

I've been BIABing in urn since 2009 and produce some often award winning beers. I personally wouldn't bother with any other system. I had been tempted to get a Grainfather but simply to produce clearer wort. However with a few tweaks I can now get this just as well using my trusty Crown urns and bags. I have a 40L and a recently acquired 20L that's a little terrier for competition and experimental brews.

Remember that BIAB or Grainfather or 3V mashing isn't brewing.
It's just wort production.