Kegging Setups

BKBrews said:
If you only had one tap, is it just a matter of disconnecting the liquid post from one keg and attaching it to the next and continuing? Or do you need to do something in-between to make it work properly? I'm thinking of building one and just slowly acquiring parts as I go - was thinking I'd start with 1 x perlick 650SS flow control tap and just swap through each keg as needed.
That'll work fine. Keep some paper towel handy to catch the drips, as there is always some spillage, and give the keg posts and the insides of the disconnects a spray of starsan each time.

Just remember to clean out the lines/tap every few kegs. If you invest in a carb cap ($20), you can use a PET bottle or one of those pump action spray bottle thingies (wtf are they called?) to push hot perc / starsan through the lines every so often. Or just use the recently emptied keg to do the same thing while cleaning it out.

BKBrews said:
If you only had one tap, is it just a matter of disconnecting the liquid post from one keg and attaching it to the next and continuing? Or do you need to do something in-between to make it work properly? I'm thinking of building one and just slowly acquiring parts as I go - was thinking I'd start with 1 x perlick 650SS flow control tap and just swap through each keg as needed.
You'll likely quickly find that you'll want more taps... but anyway, yes you can simply change the disconnect over to the next keg but you might need a spare liquid disconnect to clean out the liquid post when the keg is empty. Otherwise you'd have to take the whole thing off and dismantle it. I have three full kegs go in at a time, and I just clean the lines and taps as they empty, since I'm cleaning the keg anyway, which also cleans out the disconnect.

I recently had a bit of a spillage in my kegerator, which was cleaned up yesterday once all the kegs were removed. I left it off to air it out overnight, and today made some minor improvements to the lines and shit, and put the next lot of 3 kegs in to chill down and carb up ready for my birthday in a couple of weeks time. Was gonna try some on the weekend to see how they're tasting but I won't be here now, so next week it'll have to be.

I thought I'd post a more updated photo of my set up as I have changed the font since my original posting last year. I much prefer this font, it seems to stay colder than the original one, and the tap handles don't get all bunched up together either.

14344754_10210966357903507_895497244737175754_n.jpg

I'm certain I'll eventually want more, but at this stage I have already outlayed too much money (grainfather etc) to be buying up big on kegging equipment. I figure to start I'll need:

- chest freezer (gumtree)
- treated pine made into collar
- 4-way manifold
- regulator
- gas bottle
- 1 x perlick flow control tap and long shank
- 10m 4mm ID line
- 4 x gas connects
- 2 x liquid connects (one for tapped keg + 1 for cleaning)
- kegs (probably 2 to start, building up to 4)

I'm not a huge drinker so will take me a while to get through each anyway (probably drink 6 - 10 stubbies a week at home, nearly all on the weekend). Mainly so I can serve to friends and family and keep brewing more.

EDIT: Has anyone put the forward facing part of their keezer collar on draw sliders? I'm thinking you could store the taps inside the keezer when not in use to stay cold, then slide them out when wanting to use them.

Whoever made that spreadsheet deserves a pat on the back. That's dedication[emoji106][emoji481]

Just a warning that 4mm ID line can be difficult to get onto barbs.

4mm ID isn't too hard, just heat it up with some boiled water, and put some pliers in side it to widen it a bit. It goes on pretty easy after that.

malt junkie said:
Reported!!! Ya can't be post porn like that on yer 6th post. FFS make the rest of us look hopeless!

Top work, get em filled and your mates will probably move in!

Thanks for the compliments... (tips hat)...

... as for the mates, well, they helped me drink my first keg in a session.

Devhay said:
What size freezers are you guys using?
I'm just starting to keep an eye out on gumtree, and I'd love one I could fit 4-6 cornys in.. 4 on tap and 2 conditioning would be ideal

I used a 290 litre 'Impression Series' Kelvinator upright. It fits 2 x 30 litre kegs but I reckon you could get 4 x cornies in it.

Some awesome setups on show in this thread (I'm drooling). I'm only just starting out so my basic set up below.

Setup 2.jpg

I've only got 3 kegs at the moment in rotation (one drinking, one ageing and one green). Need to get the gas bottle out of the fridge so I can fit another keg in.

I've found a 215L F&P chesty pretty cheap.... how many 19L kegs do you think that would fit?

aus post parcel contractor drops me off these used express bag tags - waste not want not!

You posties and your secret handshakes/special "arrangements". ;)

Seriously though, those tags are awesome. I used to collect them off the floor of the shipping cages we used every day. At a truck or two worth of cages every day they were never in short supply :)

BKBrews said:
I've found a 215L F&P chesty pretty cheap.... how many 19L kegs do you think that would fit?
I've got my eye on one too[emoji6]. I just asked the seller to measure it for me. You in Melbourne?

BKBrews said:
I've got a 215L F&P with a collar fitted and can fit 5 kegs and a 6.8kg gas bottle in there. I think I could probably fit 6 kegs in without the gas but everything would be pretty tight. It already takes a bit of juggling to get some of the kegs in and out.

I've got my eye on one too[emoji6]. I just asked the seller to measure it for me. You in Melbourne?
Nah mate - Gold Coast. Seller has offered it for $80 but apparently someone else is interested too. First in best dressed.

BKBrews said:
Nah mate - Gold Coast. Seller has offered it for $80 but apparently someone else is interested too. First in best dressed.
Bargain. Good luck[emoji106]

Just got the measurements off the seller. The 215 F&P in this instance is 415mmx545mm without the hump. This means I can't even fit 4 cornies in there?

I missed the boat purchasing a mini keg in the bulk buy and slapped this together out of envy :) I transferred some of my Aussie lager into it on the weekend, filled the bucket with ice water, then forced carbed through the dip tube; it worked a treat other than the keg wants to float a bit.

20160916_113619.jpg