Kegging kit beers

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gruntre69

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing although I did around 50 coopers lagers kits about 20 years ago...

I've decided to take up brewing again and this time to go a little further and I have a keg setup.

I want to keep it simple to start with so am using can kits but want to do the best kit style brewing possible

I have a few questions and would like opinions from experienced brewers.

I prefer darker malty flavoured beer similar to tooweys old an here are the notes from my log of the second brew.
[SIZE=medium]Beermakers old tin [/SIZE]

[SIZE=medium]Ingredients:[/SIZE]
[SIZE=medium]Beermakers old tin best before 9-12-2013[/SIZE]
[SIZE=medium]Yeast Salfale S04 83898 !2-14[/SIZE]
[SIZE=medium]Brewcraft Blend 25 stout booster (Dry malt extract 70%, multidextrose and dextrose)roughly[/SIZE]
[SIZE=medium]Water from fridge filter[/SIZE]
[SIZE=medium]Cascade hops 15 gram pellet bag[/SIZE]

[SIZE=medium]Method:[/SIZE]
[SIZE=medium]Brewed as per kit instructions sanitising with bleach and boiling water. Forgot to put dry ingredients in until after water but already had 23l. Just threw it in dry and tried to mix as good as possible and ended up with 24l. Pitched yeast dry on top.[/SIZE]

[SIZE=medium]Followed hops pack instructions: 300ml boiling water just off boil, steeped yeast for 10 minutes. Squeezed bag to extract flavour and poured the lot into wort.[/SIZE]

[SIZE=medium]Finished temperature of wort at pitch: [/SIZE]24c
[SIZE=medium]Beginning gravity: [/SIZE]1037
[SIZE=medium]Gravity measurements Day/gravity/taste: [/SIZE]Day 3 1030 Tasted good
[SIZE=medium]Gravity measurements Day/gravity/taste: [/SIZE]Day 7 1018
[SIZE=medium]Gravity measurements Day/gravity/taste: [/SIZE]Day 8 1015