I'm Thinking I Might Go 3V

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fylp

Reaction score
Hey all,

I've been brewing for about 15 years, went to BIAB just over a year ago and love my beers. However, I do link to tinker and pushing 2 20l cubes out of my current set up is a bit dangerous- few close calls with heavy bags and hot wort.

So I have this 35l esky I don't use and I'm thinking about fitting it out. I gave it a run with some water to see how it held temp and it only dropped 1 degree in 90min. I wasn't expecting this.

Anyway. I like the idea of it, but is it worth it.

Fylp

Yes, even if just for the tinkering value alone.

I've been procrastinating over all the different configurations for the last 6 months and still haven't settled on a system yet. I really should sell everything and buy a Grainfather but I like to tinker so it's looking like 1v recirc or 2v ...or 3v.

Started off on extract bout 3 years ago, skipped Biab, did a few brews with a busted old bbq+esky tun, then went to a 50L 3v. On my rev2/100L v3 system now. The building of both systems was easily half the fun, it's been an awesome journey, take the plunge. [attachment=84237:ImageUploadedByAussie Home Brewer1445773584.843666.jpg

Attachments

• ImageUploadedByAussie Home Brewer1445773584.843666.jpg
    ImageUploadedByAussie Home Brewer1445773584.843666.jpg
    867.1 KB · Views: 59
If you love to tinker, 3V (or 4 or 5) is so much fun.

I'm about to add my 5Th V for reiterated mashing for super high gravity worts..

The builds!! The fun.. The satisfaction

Ed: system punches out 75l easily or 100l if I watch it closely