How do I get rid of the homebrew taste?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jamie72

Reaction score
I am new to brewing and I am wondering how do I make a beer without that tell tale taste of a home brew??
Is it the carb drops, is it because I use the tins and not AG??
If anyone on the gold coast has the patients I'd love to learn all I can.

Cheers Jamie

It you use the tins you won't get rid of it.

Combination of the can and kit yeast generally. IMO first step in getting better beer is better yeast and fermentation temperature control.

My father in law associates yeastiness with home brew, whether it's esters or just residual yeast. Is that the flavour you mean, or is it the infamous homebrew twang? If it's the first one, how long are you leaving your beer in the fermenter for and what temperatures are you brewing at? If you're using Cooper's kits, ignore the instructions and read up here for better practice brewing methods.

The only way is to move away from the kits into extract or all grain, it's just uncanny :D

if you cant move to BIAB or AG for whatever reason then lots of hops and steeping grains to help mask it.

download this
http://aussiehomebrewer.com/topic/29655-kit-and-extract-beer-spreadsheet/
Play around with it, it will make sense after a little while.

You could try
Temp control, this helps a lot!
Using better yeast , Us05, Nottingham or S-04. Then you can use the kit yeast as nutrient when you are boiling the wort.
If you don't want to jump into all grain yet, try extract brewing,it's a gateway brewing practice because you learn about hop additions (this is where the spreadsheet comes into itself).
Reading, reading and improving your practice.