Honey Beer And Buying Bulk Sugar

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Verbyla

Reaction score
I'm still new to brewing and have only done half a dozen brews so far. I'm still using the standard brew kits that you can buy from safeway or coles at the moment until i get a little more confident with what i'm doing.
I've always wanted to make a nice honey malt beer that actually has a taste of honey as i've never been satisfied with bee sting beer or beez neez. Firstly what type of beer would a honey malt beer be classified as, larger, ale, pilsner ect? If i was going to use a premade brew kit such as a coopers brand kit which type would be the best to buy if i was going to add honey to it and how would i go about making it?
Lastly, does anyone know of anywhere in the eastern suburbs of Victoria that sells sugar(dextrose) in bulk?
Thanks for any help!
Cheers

Adding honey will increase the aging time and increase the time to clear at least a month or two :). For clearing bentonite "heated" clay is best if forcing a clear.

I have recently made a Braggott, which is an old style ale made from malt and honey, where the honey predominates. it was about one third malt, from a mini-mash not a kit, and six jars of ALDI honey. It was about a month in the fermenter but has actually cleared out nicely over a week. I won't even dare to taste it until it's about a month in the bottle, the first taste on bottling had a twang of trough lollies :eek: and talcum powder, probably from the flowers in the original honey, hopefully will mellow out.