Hi newbie here just wish to be sure of carb drops vs sugar

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Robrock

Reaction score
Hi just checking if I got this right I have carb drops that came with kit but think I'll use sugar instead ... Am I right to think one drop is 3 grams ? So if it says put in 2 drops per 740 ml bottle then instead I use 6 grams of white sugar ? Thanks .... Also when I bottle it will be at same temp but for how long and then what's a good temp after that and then when can they go in fridge .. Many thanks

The drops are good. Why not use them?
2 + weeks for bottle conditioning. At fermenting temp is ideal, but I can't so I go ambient temp.
I taste tested one after 1 1/2 weeks and it is lovely but I am leaving it longer.
I generally stick them in the fridge when I go to bed, that way they are cold tomorrow.

Work in the formula of 5gm per litre ( this is the rate coopers use for Pale ale )

So 5 x .740 = 3.7g

Bulk priming is the best way to go instead of individually priming. Makes for more even carbonation per batch

If you are using PET bottles, a good way of buying your sugar is in the form of CSR sugar cubes. One per 750ml bottle. About a third of the cost of the drops and they fit perfectly through the neck of any PET. Thats all I ever use, for competition entries as well.

edit: and you get absolutely identical priming. Some ales might turn out a wee tad overcarbed, just let them steam off in a beer jug.

Of course they don't work for glass bottles or stubbies but I've gone through countless boxes of da kyubs with no problems.

Was going to suggest sugar cubes...but they wont fit in a glass bottle.

Do you know how much a sugar wieghs.. ?

stu, no idea :lol:

I'll go and weigh one now, probably best weigh ten and divide.

4.5g