Help Re: Portable Keg System

Haroldo

G'day,

Firstly - god bless this site... its obviously not me that has a problem... its my wife!

To the problem at hand: I am currently constructing a portable esky type set utilising a small Tropical Ice Box (single font) suitable to use at a campsite on the beach. What diameter internal (meaning inside the cold box) beer line/coil is best to use? Plastic or stainless steel? Is it the case that the longer the internal line the colder the beer? Or does CO2 pressure become a problem relative to internal line length? What is the normal life of a smallish CO2 cylinder (dont have one yet but need to minimise size owing to lack of storage in camper)?
I have seen set ups where the a smaller type keg was iced as well and others where commercial size kegs are not iced (only the internal line). The beer was nice and cold in both. Are there reasons for and against? Any and all experiences or advice will be appreciated.

This site is reason enough for the world wide web...

Thanks,

Haroldo

cant help but be sure to post pics when you finish it!

A worthy objective Haroldo, welcome to the board.

I'm assuming that if you want to serve at a beach campsite, you might be wanting to serve during the heat of the day. This says two things to me; firstly, the more steel (ie font vs tap, or keg inside vs keg outside) you have outside the Tropical Ice Box (TIB), the more the beer inside the outside bits will warm and the harder the system will work to keep it in balance (ie the forst beer or two will only serve to get the font cold and will be all head).

My personal opinion is that if the serving vessel (ie keg) is also inside the TIB, then the less of an influence the length of line has. Sure, there is a *maximum* length of line at internal diameter "X" you want inside the TIB, as line length influences carbonation levels (see Crozdog's balancing table at the bottom of this post), but you can get away with shorter lines inside with a flow restrictor (which several of the folks here haven't had that much success with - could pick one up cheap?).

But - not really answering your questions. Best line to use? Copper coil, then plastic, then s/s. Size? Whatever fits your existing keg system; 1/2" is probably too generous, somewhere around 5mm or 6mm ID is good. CO2 in solution does become a problem dependent on lenght of line - see spreadsheet link above. CO2 cylinder? I picked up a little 1.1 kg cylinder which also sits inside my TIB, have served 8 kegs out of the one cylinder (not carbonated then mind you, just served them). Chose this over a Soda Stream bottle because it could stand up in the TIB, therefore no CO2 through the reg.

But, my call, based on experience with a TIB - put a little keg (or two, or three) inside, get a flow restrictor to adjust the carbonation levels and not worry about length of line (I use them with mine and they work mint), and consider a tap rather than a font (easier to pack more crap in the car, and less surface area to get hot).

Could always build a party keg

Link

Kabooby :)

Thanks Kabooby... much appreciated. Couple of good ideas there, will take it onboard. I like the idea of that esky with the soda stream cylinder bracketed on the outside... some smart people here. Another reason why drinking beer is good for you...

A worthy objective Haroldo, welcome to the board.

I'm assuming that if you want to serve at a beach campsite, you might be wanting to serve during the heat of the day. This says two things to me; firstly, the more steel (ie font vs tap, or keg inside vs keg outside) you have outside the Tropical Ice Box (TIB), the more the beer inside the outside bits will warm and the harder the system will work to keep it in balance (ie the forst beer or two will only serve to get the font cold and will be all head).

My personal opinion is that if the serving vessel (ie keg) is also inside the TIB, then the less of an influence the length of line has. Sure, there is a *maximum* length of line at internal diameter "X" you want inside the TIB, as line length influences carbonation levels (see Crozdog's balancing table at the bottom of this post), but you can get away with shorter lines inside with a flow restrictor (which several of the folks here haven't had that much success with - could pick one up cheap?).

But - not really answering your questions. Best line to use? Copper coil, then plastic, then s/s. Size? Whatever fits your existing keg system; 1/2" is probably too generous, somewhere around 5mm or 6mm ID is good. CO2 in solution does become a problem dependent on lenght of line - see spreadsheet link above. CO2 cylinder? I picked up a little 1.1 kg cylinder which also sits inside my TIB, have served 8 kegs out of the one cylinder (not carbonated then mind you, just served them). Chose this over a Soda Stream bottle because it could stand up in the TIB, therefore no CO2 through the reg.

But, my call, based on experience with a TIB - put a little keg (or two, or three) inside, get a flow restrictor to adjust the carbonation levels and not worry about length of line (I use them with mine and they work mint), and consider a tap rather than a font (easier to pack more crap in the car, and less surface area to get hot).

Thanks Ant... excellent suggestions. Will start bolting a few things together and perhaps get back to you re some fine tuning...

Hi guys,

there is a lot of info on this site if you search for "magic box" (use a google advanced search like this one)

here is 1

personally i reckon the cold plate approach is the go cause it is always under the slurry - especially important when the ice starts to melt. They are a bit exe, but keep the eyes open & you'll pick 1 up for about $100 2nd hand.

Good luck with your project Haroldo

ANT, glad you found that spreadsheet handy.