Hello, New Member And Tropical Temp Question.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nicko_Cairns

Reaction score
G'day guys,

New to the forum and I've been brewing for a few years down south, now I've moved back home to QLD and I have a couple of questions.

1. I'm aware that Lager brews better in cooler climates, does that mean my Lager will be crap-house if brewed here or quite drinkable? Should I really take the time to make the wort cooler or don't bother? The best way I've heard of is a towel soaked in water, drawing extra water from the wort lid with a fan blowing on the towel. Any better ideas, or don't bother.

2. The first brews I put down here (in ambient temperatures of about 30 degrees celsius) only bubbled for about 1.5 days then went quiet, they bubbled along nicely so I'm guessing that the heat made fermentation happen very quickly, so should I still wait for about 7 days before bottling or just a few days?

I'm only using kits (Brewcraft and Blackrock) at the moment and generally use the packet yeast, although sometimes I include better yeasts and hops etc.

Thanks guys, keen to hear from some other brewers up here in the tropics (Cairns).

Nicko.

G'day guys,

New to the forum and I've been brewing for a few years down south, now I've moved back home to QLD and I have a couple of questions.

1. I'm aware that Lager brews better in cooler climates, does that mean my Lager will be crap-house if brewed here or quite drinkable? Should I really take the time to make the wort cooler or don't bother? The best way I've heard of is a towel soaked in water, drawing extra water from the wort lid with a fan blowing on the towel. Any better ideas, or don't bother.