Hefeweizen head retention

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Papa Lazarou

Reaction score
Hi all
I am after advice on my hefeweizen with poor head retention. The beer tastes perfect and pours a nice head but in a minute or so it is gone. Nice lacing on glass and good mouthfeel but it tastes its best with the head still on. I would like to have the beer maintain the head as long as possible.

Recipe:

2.5 kg JW export pilsner
2.5kg JW malted wheat
25g Cascade @ 60min
Mash 60min @ 66C
Made 22l
1l yeast starter from yeast harvested from Burleigh Brewing HEF

any tips would be appreciated.
Cheers. hefe.jpg

i'm no expert mate so forgive me if this is incorrect/grain of salt etc etc, but i believe for wheats, a protein rest 10-20 mins at about 50c) could assist. someone else more knowledgable i'm sure can confirm that or completely tell me otherwise

fletcher said:
i'm no expert mate so forgive me if this is incorrect/grain of salt etc etc, but i believe for wheats, a protein rest 10-20 mins at about 50c) could assist. someone else more knowledgable i'm sure can confirm that or completely tell me otherwise
The low temp rest is more for flavour characterisitcs for wheats - in particular the clove flavour, not assisting with head. A protein rest, if anything would be detrimental to head retention. Not sure what your problem with head retention could be. Possibly some detergent that you washed kegs, bottles or glasses??

I think these malts are well modified so a protein rest was not needed. I have tried washing glasses with hot water but didn't think of the keg. I clean them with sodium percarbonate, rinse and use hydrogen peroxide as no rinse before kegging. I also primed the keg with 100g of table sugar.
Thanks

JasonP said:
A protein rest, if anything would be detrimental to head retention.