Guinness, Stout, Porter Recipe Needed. Help!

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smilinggilroy

Reaction score
First off, I am very new to brewing, and wish to do my very first brew of beer. Have a ginger beer going at the moment, (a kit brought home by wife from supermarket spruced up to the max for flavour and body).

I am a Guinness Draught fanatic (icy cold widget cans at home or a good on tap only) very, very rarely drink any other beer, and would like to knock out a brew that I will enjoy as much as the Guinness.

Reading though the forums, some say that this stuff is watery sh!t, but Sheaf and Guinness type stouts are a little too bitter and harsh for my liking. Would like to brew a style that is smooth, creamy, velvety, rich, and especially dry and full-bodied Oh, and blaaaack!

I know Guinness is charged with nitrogen so I am not going to get exactly the same result but would like to get as close to the taste as possible.

LHBS has this kit recipe:-

3kg X-TRACT BLACK, 1.5kg light liquid malt, 24g Goldings (dry hopped). Makes 18ltr.

Seen recipes with espresso coffee, liquorice, star anise and so on and on and.FFS.

Would like to use a kit as a base (being a newbie) and tweaking it up a bit, and would like to get it under way ASAP.

HELP!!......Please.

3kg X-TRACT BLACK, 1.5kg light liquid malt, 24g Goldings (dry hopped). Makes 18ltr.

Seen recipes with espresso coffee, liquorice, star anise and so on and on and.FFS.

Would like to use a kit as a base (being a newbie) and tweaking it up a bit, and would like to get it under way ASAP.

HELP!!......Please.

Is there any kit base with that recipe? Basically the way it reads there is no bittering which means treacly syrup instead of beer.