• We have implemented the ability to gift someone a Supporting Membership now! When you access the Upgrade page there is now a 'Gift' button. Once you click that you can enter a username to gift an account Upgrade to. Great way to help support this forum plus give some kudos to anyone who has helped you.

First Porter

Aussie Home Brewer

Help Support Aussie Home Brewer:

JaseH

Reaction score
Going to try and put down another brew on the new system this weekend and as the weather is starting to cool down I want to try a Robust Porter style. I have no idea about darker malts though so am flying blind. I have looked over a bunch of other Porter recipes and have tried to put together a recipe loosely based on others and using what grains I have available from my LHBS(mainly Joe White/Maltcraft).

I would appreciate anyone commenting on this. I realise porters are all about balancing malts but as I have no experience with darker malts I am flying blind at the moment.

Recipe: Stormy Porter
Brewer: Jase
Style: Robust Porter
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (30.0)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Boil Size: 32.04 l
Post Boil Volume: 27.04 l
Batch Size (fermenter): 24.00 l
Bottling Volume: 23.00 l
Estimated OG: 1.061 SG
Estimated Color: 59.1 EBC
Estimated IBU: 33.0 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 65.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 70.4 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amt Name Type # %/IBU
5.00 kg Pale Malt, Traditional Ale (Joe White) ( Grain 1 69.4 %
0.80 kg Amber Malt (Joe White) (45.3 EBC) Grain 2 11.1 %
0.60 kg Munich, Dark (Joe White) (29.6 EBC) Grain 3 8.3 %
0.50 kg Chocolate Malt (Joe White) (750.6 EBC) Grain 4 6.9 %
0.20 kg Crystal (Joe White) (141.8 EBC) Grain 5 2.8 %
0.11 kg Oats, Flaked (2.0 EBC) Grain 6 1.5 %

20.00 g Warrior [15.00 %] - Boil 60.0 min Hop 7 29.3 IBUs
0.50 Items Whirlfloc Tablet (Boil 15.0 mins) Fining 8 -
15.00 g Motueka [7.00 %] - Boil 10.0 min Hop 9 3.7 IBUs

1.0 pkg SafAle English Ale (DCL/Fermentis #S-04) Yeast 10 -