First ever brew, need cider advice

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jordansr

Reaction score
So, I am completely new to the whole homebrewing thing. I've been wanting to do it for a while but I only turned 18 2 weeks ago. My dad brought me a Black Rock Cider kit from Dave's homebrew store, and there were a few questions I have:

1. Should I just stick to the simple outline for the first batch with no additives? Because I was thinking of adding some cinnamon and honey, just because I've never had the opportunity to actually tailor the taste before and I thought that would go well.
2. If I change the yeast for a yeast with higher alcohol tolerance and add more fermentable sugar to adjust, will the alcohol content be the only thing that changes?
3. If I want some degree of sweetness, is it better to just use unfermentable sugar to add that degree of sweetness, or is it better to add more fermentable sugar than the yeast is physically capable of converting to ethanol (Due to limited alcohol tolerance)?
4. Should I use the carbonation drops, or is there a better way of carbonating the cider?
5. Where should I store the fermentation vessel? Should it go in the space under the house, or can I just leave it in my room?
6. How do I keep the temperature from killing the fermentation in this heat?
7. If I'm leaving on holidays for 5 days on the 30th (Finishing HSC 28th), can I leave it unattended after starting for those couple days?

I know it's a lot of questions (Completely clueless about the processes atm, but read the cider starting thread), so they don't all have to be answered, any advice at all is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance guys :)