Fermentation Time

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SG9090

Reaction score
I know there is no straight forward answer for this however i was wondering in general how long dose everone give the primary fermentation.

So far have only brewed ales.

Why i ask is i have been leaving my primary for 10 days at the correct temp for the recipe and always get down to 1.002 to 1.006 even though a recipe might say it will finish down to 1.015. Should i be stopping the beer once i hit the final gravity of a said recipe or continue on the way i have been going. Im thinking the way i have been going will change the taste of the final beer to maybe something not quite right.

Cheers, Shane

I'm by no means an expert (much closer to noob) but I'd say ferment until you're SG is stable over 24-48 hours. Otherwise if you're bottling and fermentation hasn't finished you'll end up with grenades. In terms of time (and a general rule) I think true lager yeasts will take longer to ferment at optimum temperature (lower temps) than ale yeasts (higher temps). I only primary ferment and usually bottle/keg no earlier than 2 weeks (although I predominantly do ales but still stay true to the stable SG rule). Feel free to correct me anyone.

For ales I would put your 1006 in the too low area

If your yeast has an attenuation of say 70 % then you can predict with some confidence the terminal gravity of your batch will drop by three quarters approx

Ie 1.055 -1 = 55 x .3 = 16.5 plus 1 = 1.016

Terminal gravity

speedie