Extract brewing help

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aussie Mick

Reaction score
I tried a Dr. Smurto's Golden Ale extract recipe in December, and it was very palatable indeed. I emptied both cans into the fermenter and "mashed" the caramalt, then boiled hops as directed.

I have recently read that boiling the extract will give much better results. Just wondering if anyone has tried this method of boiling the whole amount of extract, and whether it makes a BIG improvement.

TIA

Gday Aussie Mick,

I am new to this as well and my understanding is by adding your malt extract to the boil, allows the hops to infuse into the wort ( including the malt) during the boil.

Each recipe is different and the hops provides, flavor, aroma and bitterness to the wort. Adding the malt to the boil means the malt picks up this from the hops.

HI AM,

From memory doing a partial boil with the steeped sweet liquid (from the caramalt) and maybe a portion of the liquid extract will put you in the right gravity (sugar dissolved in wort) range for hop utilisation.
This range is about 1.040 IIRC.

I've attached a recipe from the Kit and Extract Beer designer spreadsheet (on AHB) to illustrate this point. Particularly the line "Bring Boil SG to 1.040 add either..."

View attachment Cascade Pale Ale.pdf

Thanks fellas.

As I said, I was very happy with my first effort, and didn't really want to get into boiling all the extract in many litres of water, as I don't have a cooking coil. If a partial boil will improve things, then I will try this method, and cool it in an ice slurry bath as normal.

Thanks for the attachment fw00r. I'll check it out before I put on the Dr. Smurto brew again this w/e.

Hey Aussie Mick - there is a pretty comprehensive guide on steeping grains and boiling with some extract (not all of it though) here: