Excess Foam When Priming

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Julez

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've read some past posts on this issue, but can't quite figure out what's going on in my case.

I've had a lager in the fermenter for a few weeks, which has been sitting on a gravity of 1.012 for well over a week - i.e. it's finished (or so I thought). A week ago, I did a diacetyl rest at 15 degrees C, where it sat for two days, then I dropped the temp down to 2 degrees to try to clear out the yeast as much as poss before bottling.

I normally use carb drops, but ran out, so used dextrose instead for bottle priming (4.5 grams/tallie). The beer foamed quite a lot when filling the bottles. Now, I've read this is due to either the beer not being finished, or excess CO2 remaining in solution, that reacts with the dex. when bottling. I'm assuming it must be the latter. I tried swirling the fermenter a few times, to release some CO2, then left it overnight before trying again, but the same problem persisted. I went ahead and finished bottling anyway. Even when there was just dregs left in the bottom, I put the fermenter lid back on (with airlock) and bugger me if the thing started bubbling away as if it was a fresh batch of unfermented wort!

My question is, what causes excess CO2 in solution and how do you get rid of it or prevent it from building up to excess?

Cheers, Julez.

The colder the beer is fermented, the more CO2 will remain in solution. Seeing as you diacetyl rest was 15C (ie the max temperature of the beer), that will leave about 1 volume of CO2 in the beer before you even prime it. No need to get rid of the excess, just prime accordingly. If you bulk prime with boiled dextrose (or whatever), there will be no nucleation points for the CO2 in solution to foam up on.