Equipment For Extract Brewing

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewlord

Reaction score
Fellow Home Brewers,

Ive been doing K&K for a few years now and have pretty much got fermentation, sanitation, kegging and the other basics down pat.

This year I have been working on flavour and quality improvement and making a few tweaks to the basic kits. I have been reading John Palmers How to brew and have become interested in moving up a few steps not quite to all grain but perhaps starting at extract brewing.

That said, the FIRST part of my question relates to what gear I would need to do an extract brew. I have all the basics already for K&K but what extra hardware do I need? (I am in the Riverina and can get to all the big chain stores and I can also get to Wagga and Canberra home brew shops to get what ingredients I need. There are plenty of recipes around so that aspect is covered.)

The SECOND part of my question is whether there would be enough heat in a butane camp stove to do the boil on? The one I am thinking of is the one that takes the aerosol butane cylinder. My concern is whether there would be enough heat to boil the normal volume for one 23lt batch? (My wife just doesnt understand my passion so the kitchen is ground zero with respect to using those facilties so I am thinking of alternatives. I have heard of the camp burner rings connected to a 9kg gas bottle but thought the butane might be smaller and simpler.)

I have searched the forum but could not find a definitive list of requirements. Whilst Palmers text is outstanding and he does mention what gear is required I would like to see what the local brewing community uses and where best to get it.

Thanks in advance for your help.

BL :icon_cheers: