Cube hopping with whole hops

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RelaxedBrewer

Reaction score
I have kindly been given a fair amount of hops from this years harvest from a friend. The hops have been dried and vacuum sealed and seem in good order.

I want to use them in some hoppy APA styles but I am a no chiller. I have been cube hopping with pellets a lot and have had great success.

I have never used whole hops before. I remember reading that the utilization of whole hops is reduced and my brewing software seems to account for that. But I also remember reading that using whole hops in the cube was not a good idea as the whole hops need the turbulence of the boil to help get their oils out.

Does anyone have any experience using whole hops for cube hopping? What was their method?
I was thinking that maybe I should cut the hops up and give the cubes a shake to help them out a bit.

Of coarse I don't know the actual AA% of the hops and I am just using the average for that hop so it is all a bit of guess work anyway.

Almost impossible to estimate the AA% in my experience, but luckily as its just the cube hop addition (roughly equilivant to a 5 - 10 minute addition on my equipment) it wont affect your brews IBUs all that much anyway. Make a guestimate and just go for it (I usually shave 25% off the standard AA% for the hop variety for homegrown flowers [no science behind this, but seems to work out]).

I have found that using wet flowers (I only have experience with cascade) as a dryhop gives off grassiness a lot quicker than dried, so I would suggest no more than 3 days as a dryhop. So perhaps dont leave it in the cube for too long before pitching also. All guesswork tho.. you will make beer either way =)

Edit: just read they were dried, ignore the last paragraph ;-)