Coopers kits ideas

Alex.Tas said:
try this:
coopers draught
1.5kg of liquid malt extract, or say 1200g of dry malt extract
boil 12g of cluster for 25 min
boil 12g of cascade for 15 min

ferment with US05 yeast if you can get it, or use the kit yeast if you cant.
after its been fermenting for 5 days or so, add your second pack of cascade straight into the fermenter. if its in one of those teabag things, tear it open and add the pellets inside straight into the fermenter.

brew till its done. bottle/keg

Love life now that you have good beer on hand.
Awesome! Thankyou heaps for that! I will do that one definitely tonight. How much water do I boil??

jkhlt1210 said:
Awesome! Thankyou heaps for that! I will do that one definitely tonight. How much water do I boil??
I'd boil 4-6 litres, add your malt extract before adding hops... Do not boil the kit.

damoninja said:
I'd boil 4-6 litres, add your malt extract before adding hops... Do not boil the kit.
Once again thanks to all for being very helpful! Everyone is great on this forum helping out with advice. I just want to brew great beer and I'm looking forward to getting more into it

I probabaly should have said too, add 100g of dry malt extract (DME) to each litre of water you boil. if you are using liquid malt, maybe 120g or so.
The reason you do this is that you get more out of your hops if the water you are boiling them in has a higher gravity (density) due to the dissolved sugars in the malt extract.
The reason you dont boil the kit can is that it already is loaded with some hops, and if you boil it, you will lose most of the taste of those hops and swap it for bitterness, which in this recipe is what you dont want.
If i've confused you, dont worry. whatever you do, you wont bugger it up.

Enjoy buddy

Alex.Tas said:
I probabaly should have said too, add 100g of dry malt extract (DME) to each litre of water you boil. if you are using liquid malt, maybe 120g or so.
The reason you do this is that you get more out of your hops if the water you are boiling them in has a higher gravity (density) due to the dissolved sugars in the malt extract.
The reason you dont boil the kit can is that it already is loaded with some hops, and if you boil it, you will lose most of the taste of those hops and swap it for bitterness, which in this recipe is what you dont want.
If i've confused you, dont worry. whatever you do, you wont bugger it up.

Enjoy buddy
G'day Alex thanks heaps for your advice! I am going to do that exact recipe you suggested. Thanks for the tips and I will make sure I boil some DME with the hops

No worries fella.
The recipe was similar to the first beer i made which gave me results i was really happy with.

Last bit of info i forgot, make it up to 22L. After some more thought, if you use dry malt extract, only use 1 kilo. if you use liquid, use say 1200g. You may be able to freeze the unused liquid malt extract for your next brew. I haven;t done this before, but im sure someone on this forum will know if you can or not, or its a waste of time. The recipe should give you a beer around 4.1% alc by volume from memory. If you want to up this, then grab some dextrose from your brew shop, some supermarkets sell it in the homebrew section. Big W and kmart sell it too i think, packaged up by coopers.

Reason for the reduction in malt is that i based the recipe i gave you off one of my past ones, but i had more bitterness in my brew (because i had a larger quantity of hops on hand). Because i had more bitterness (measured in IBUs) i could use more malt which gives some sweetness to your beer. If you add too much malt without enough hops you can have an unbalanced beer.
Dextrose on the other hand usually ferments out almost completely. leaving you with not much in the way of sweetness or flavour but it ups the ABV%.

Alex.Tas said:
No worries fella.
The recipe was similar to the first beer i made which gave me results i was really happy with.

Last bit of info i forgot, make it up to 22L. After some more thought, if you use dry malt extract, only use 1 kilo. if you use liquid, use say 1200g. You may be able to freeze the unused liquid malt extract for your next brew. I haven;t done this before, but im sure someone on this forum will know if you can or not, or its a waste of time. The recipe should give you a beer around 4.1% alc by volume from memory. If you want to up this, then grab some dextrose from your brew shop, some supermarkets sell it in the homebrew section. Big W and kmart sell it too i think, packaged up by coopers.

Reason for the reduction in malt is that i based the recipe i gave you off one of my past ones, but i had more bitterness in my brew (because i had a larger quantity of hops on hand). Because i had more bitterness (measured in IBUs) i could use more malt which gives some sweetness to your beer. If you add too much malt without enough hops you can have an unbalanced beer.
Dextrose on the other hand usually ferments out almost completely. leaving you with not much in the way of sweetness or flavour but it ups the ABV%.
Great thanks again for all that! I'll be getting my boil on tonight!

Alex.Tas said:
You may be able to freeze the unused liquid malt extract for your next brew. I haven;t done this before, but im sure someone on this forum will know if you can or not, or its a waste of time.
Freezing is fine, just remove as much air from as possible from the container. If you've only got a little bit in a large container, pour a small layer of cold water across the top to stop the top getting any freezer burn and drying it out.

You will also need to boil it before using since it's no longer in a sterile environment.

Alex.Tas said:
No worries fella.

Alex!!! I have just finished putting down the exact brew you gave me. I'm excited as! Can't wait to bottle it!

Alex.Tas said:
No worries fella.

Alex!!! I have just finished putting down the exact brew you gave me. I'm excited as! Can't wait to bottle it!

Alex.Tas said:
No worries fella.

good to hear mate. make sure you give it a taste during the fermentation. you will need to take gravity readings in a week or so, so you should have a taste each time you sample it so you get an idea as to how its coming along!

jkhlt1210 said:

you are excited :beerbang:

Alex.Tas said:
good to hear mate. make sure you give it a taste during the fermentation. you will need to take gravity readings in a week or so, so you should have a taste each time you sample it so you get an idea as to how its coming along!
Damn right I will do that! Took a look just now it's bubbling away going crazy! Can't wait for this to be ready

Another question.... Since my fermenters are in an esky, I have to lift them out to be able to take a hydrometer reading then lift back in. Does that matter ?

jkhlt1210 said:
Another question.... Since my fermenters are in an esky, I have to lift them out to be able to take a hydrometer reading then lift back in. Does that matter ?
How come they're in an esky? Temp control?

Should be fine, just use starsan in the airlock instead of water as when you move it will probably suck in/out and you might get a drop in the vessel.

damoninja said:
How come they're in an esky? Temp control?

Should be fine, just use starsan in the airlock instead of water as when you move it will probably suck in/out and you might get a drop in the vessel.
Yeah temp control. I live in Townsville and my garage is my brewery so you can imagine how hot it gets . So I have an ice bottle in with them

jkhlt1210 said:
Yeah temp control. I live in Townsville and my garage is my brewery so you can imagine how hot it gets . So I have an ice bottle in with them
Though of getting an old fridge and whacking a temp controller on it? Much more stable temperature and probably costs less to put together than eskies that size are to buy ;p

damoninja said:
Though of getting an old fridge and whacking a temp controller on it? Much more stable temperature and probably costs less to put together than eskies that size are to buy ;p
70 litre esky with cardboard box over the top covered by blanket. 1x 3 litre ice bottle between fermenters change over at night. Temp stays at 20 degrees

I got this recipe from Homebrew youtuber Tubedinoz. (coopers sexed up draught)
10L batch

1 can coopers Draught
75g crystal malt
12g Nelson Sauvin - dry hopped at start of fermentation
kit yeast

Hes recipe is slightly different as I used what I had left over from other batches.
the OG - 1.052

Its still fermenting at 20-22
Hope it turns out nice.