Carb Drops Or Sugar

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

seanokil

Reaction score
Just a general question .
What is the difference between carb drops and sugar for priming ?
Is one better than the other?
Im a noob to brewing.I have just bottled my first brew a pale ale ,using sugar as a primer.
My next batch of wheat beer will be ready to bottle next week so i was just wondering what should I use?
Thanks in advance
Seano

Makes bugger all difference when priming, AFAIK carb drops are glucose & sugar, sugar is just, well, sugar.

Sugar weighed out is more accurate and repeatable than carb drops. Used to use the drops years and years ago, but often found them to be very irregular and inconsistent in their size.

Either go sugar individually to each bottle, or even better (from an accuracy point of view), bulk priming.

If you are using PET bottles then these are perfect - one per bottle and a quarter of the cost of drops, and are completely uniform

in size.

csr_cubes.jpeg

Fine for 750 mL glass, but are sometimes too big to fit in the smaller neck. 500mL will be over-carbed.

Could also use dextrose, easily soluble.

I also recommend bulk priming. No brainer

I also recommend bulk priming. No brainer

I agree with this. I know this wasn't your questions but I individually primed bottles for years then tried bulk priming and never looked back. It's easy! I wish I had started sooner.

As an addition to the other posts, you can find sachets of white sugar of varying sizes in supermarkets. With a quick calculation you can find which size is right for the bottles you are using. They are a bit more expensive than using a big packet of white sugar but when individually priming I found this worked well.