Beginner Ginger Beer

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KenJohnson

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

My names Ken and im new here, im just starting out brewing so be nice, haha.
So im making a ginger beer, from scratch and on the cheap. its been brewing away for about a week now, and fairly quietly, but consistently (just groups of bubbles on the surface). would a yeast nuitrient and better yeast help next time? (used cheap Brigalow yeast) kept the temp between 20-22 degrees.

I'll keep you all updated as I go :)

Ken,

A recipe and a list of steps you took would be helpful.

Yeast nutrient certainly doesn't hurt - especially when brewing things like ginger beer. It really depends on what you put into it.

Do you have a hydrometer - if the gravity is dropping, then the fermentation is progressing - and providing it doesn't get stuck you should be fine.

hey guys,

i dont have a hydrometer (next purchase) just going by bubbles. recipe was something like.. ginger powder, 1 lemon, 1 cup sugar, 1 cup Brew enhancer 2, nutmeg, cinnamon, 2 gallons water. next time i'll probly use a real ginger, and better yeast.

but it is still bubbling away, just really slowly.

i saw a guy making this on youtube, i just scaled it down for 2 gallons. the brew enhancer is my little experimental tweaking, not sure how that will effect the taste.

basically just simmered the sugar/BE2 in water for a bit to melt them, put the sliced lemon right into the fermenter, poured on the sugars and other dry ingredients. Had a taste before i added the yeast, and it was pretty good, very spicy.