Ahb Articles: Australias Biggest Brew Day 2009

I just called PP for a phone beer ,spoke to Katie in stead as she is trapped inside ! apparently Pat's out side having an unintentional shower whilst using his new chiller plate LOL.Stresssssssssssed , I know its going to be my Fault, I sold him the chiller.
GB
Apparently PP has used his incontinence nappies and cleaned up his mess :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Poor old thing !
GB

Katie again

Its all calm now ready for the next chill...

great talking to you nev hope to see you soon... lots of fun...

All righto then

Sounds like we have been some very busy brewers! Did the XXXX clone and Vienna yesterday and just tidying up from brewin' 2 more double batches this afternoon. A Dark Oktoberfest and a English Mild.

So 168lts all up for the weekend. Every cube and fermenter is full! GarvityGuru called around early and thakfully relieved me of 2 cubes.

Chappo

BREWERS and LITRES

Yeastie Beastie - 23+23+?
Chappo - 164lts in total - 84lt Sat and 84lt Sunday
gavo - 42
pants - 50
BribieG -
Katie - 46lts
bradsbrew -
PistolPatch - 23+23
Leigh - An unexpected 12 (you'll get a prize mate!)

Well i am done and dusted (about 1.5 hours ago). I would say we ended up with around the planned 96l of wort into cubes.

Unfortunately I supra-Jim was absent due to unforseen circumstances - so I was a lot busier than planned - but I was ably assisted by five newbies and despite some early pump priming problems it was a roaring success.

Thanks everyone for making it a success. I will be sorting out donations tomorrow - time now foe dinner and sleep!

brendo

Na... Patch did 46 yesterday and 92 today we are included tho... Lloydie is drinking coffee im so upset... oh well he can drive.

Katie

nice speaking to you batz.... x

Australia's Biggest Brew Day?

I think you meant, "Australia's Longest, Most Expensive and Frustrating Brew Day"

Just chilling the lagers now. I am so glad I spent that $220 worth of glycol. It has dropped the temperature a whole extra two degrees. Yippee.

LOL form
Pistol (taking another one for the team)

P.S. Forget the valium Batz. If Steph comes back I'm going for the Viagra!
P.P.S. Gryphon, I am expecting a credit note. 'ken high tech fandangled shit! I suppose 'll get it all going on the next brew but have the credit note written and ready :)

PP I used a plate chiller with no glycol , water straight from the tap and got 15C into the fermentor ?I wanted 22C ! It will warm up as the yeast kicks in.Who knows best? :icon_chickcheers:
BTW the new Mag drive pump (non March) I tested today works a treat ! I will speak to you Wednesday about this.I think you need one. :icon_cheers:
GB

katie on pp log in again...

a brew day at patches is always entertaining.....

P.S... forgot to tell you GB i dreamt you were a christian canibal last night... very strange you were eating my parents... I must of being nervous about brewing at patches... being my biab daddy an all... true...

PP I used a plate chiller with no glycol , water straight from the tap and got 15C into the fermentor ?I wanted 22C ! It will warm up as the yeast kicks in.Who knows best? :icon_chickcheers:
BTW the new Mag drive pump (non March) I tested today works a treat ! I will speak to you Wednesday about this.I think you need one. :icon_cheers:
GB

good to hear the pump is ok - let me know what they are worth to buy. I liked the look of it, and the 22W rating!

23L of altbier yesterday.

good to hear the pump is ok - let me know what they are worth to buy. I liked the look of it, and the 22W rating!

23L of altbier yesterday.
And bloody quite as well, not like my 809 March ! Good thing, there is no way the water can get in unless it comes from below.Ran really cool as well.Im impressed.
GB

katie on pp log in again...

a brew day at patches is always entertaining.....

P.S... forgot to tell you GB i dreamt you were a christian canibal last night... very strange you were eating my parents... I must of being nervous about brewing at patches... being my biab daddy an all... true...
I take it your Mum's made of Tofu and your Dads a six pack of Fullers ESB.Very strange dream ! I must remember to brush tonight as your mums stuck between my front teeth . :icon_drool2:
GB

Bah, I had no time, I only just got back to the gong and have to work early tomorrow morning..only 45L from me instead of my claimed 75 :( A bit unlucky there for me. Hopefully I'll have a less clashing weekend next year.

Im over whelmed again SteveM01 who has being here since the beginning rode his push bike over ... has just left and he left a $50.00 donation... how good is that...

Katie

edit: keep forgetting to say its me

We can tell it's you Katie, PP never posts such short messages ;)

Had a great day at Brendo's watching an AG brew done by someone who know's what they're doing. Met a few new brewers, had lunch cooked for me, drank some beer and had my 8 million questions answered patiently and in a way I could understand and got to take home 15-17 litres of wort to ferment in my own time.

If this is done again next year, new brewers should take note and get in touch with willing hosts. I'm not sure everyone's non brewing aunty will have the attention span (I apologise to any potentially offended aunties) but for anyone vaguely interested in the process of brewing, it's a great way to learn something new and kit/extract and partial brewers (and even very new AG brewers like mysef) could find far worse days to spend a day.

Many thankyous to our hosts.

So we have 40L TTLL and 20L Dunklweisen from the weekend.

Well done to all whom took up the challenge. I hope it was a great day for all!

Cheers & Beers!

Had a great day at Brendo's watching an AG brew done by someone who know's what they're doing. Met a few new brewers, had lunch cooked for me, drank some beer and had my 8 million questions answered patiently and in a way I could understand and got to take home 15-17 litres of wort to ferment in my own time.

If this is done again next year, new brewers should take note and get in touch with willing hosts. I'm not sure everyone's non brewing aunty will have the attention span (I apologise to any potentially offended aunties) but for anyone vaguely interested in the process of brewing, it's a great way to learn something new and kit/extract and partial brewers (and even very new AG brewers like mysef) could find far worse days to spend a day.

Many thankyous to our hosts.

Katie speaking...

exactly how i learnt... Patch is one of the most generous brewer/teachers around... always willing to to teach and at the same time you can drink his beer which is part of the learning i reckon...

thanks again to everyone envolved... but espeacially you MR PATCH YOU ARE A CHAMPION... LOVE YOU LOTS...

p.S: must be drunk... no really PP love you heaps...

Well Patch I hope your all done now and the stress levels have subsided. You made me feel so much better about my brewing :)

Great to meet some brewers!!