Ag Or Keg?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thelastspud

Reaction score
Hey everyone hows it going?
Ive been making beer for a year or so now using kits sometimes with speciality grains mini mashes
and i was wondering whats the better next step.
Should i get a AG setup and keep bottling my beer?
Or buy a kegging system and keep making kit beer. I do plan to do both eventually but i can only afford to do one change this year.
What do you think add the most enjoyment to home brewing?

I'm actually in the same situation.

I've been doing partials for around 8 months now & am probably going to go with a keg setup in the next couple of weeks, as I've suddenly gotten the sh!ts with bottling every fortnight ;)

Not trying to be a smart arse, but do both. They are both really worth it.

If I was to pick one, I'd say AG 1st, kegging 2nd. But TBH this is one of those questions where some people will swear blind that kegging is the next best step, and others who say AG is the next best step.

If you're really over bottling then do the kegs, if you don't mind it too much, AG for sure.

Thommo.

I'd say kegs. AG + bottling would be very time consuming. You can also gradually slide across from extract to partial to AG as you get more equipment and experience.

I do 2/3 partials which can be done on my stove in a 15 litre pot. Once the kids are a bit older I'll go to full AG.

There's no going back to bottles after having a keg system!

firstly - it depends!

I went kegs before AG mainly because if I wasn't kegging I probably wouldn't still be brewing.