bignath
"Grains don't grow up to be chips, son"
- Reaction score
I dunno to be honest. Some people lack the capacity to think outside the square the media keeps them in. Some people genuinely are teetotallers. Some people take pleasure in sticking their noses in other peoples business. Some people give up their freedom for their perceived 'safety' way too easily.
The common theme is the lack of empathy. Most people are happy for things they don't care about to be banned, as long as they can still do the things they do care about.
There have been some good points raised so far for both sides of the coin, but this one....
Mark^******* - i would vote you to run the country for sure... I completely agree with this comment mate.
My dad (who used to brew when i was a little bloke, stopped, and then took it back up again a few years ago) told me:
"if you want to drink beer, don't ever do it behind my back. We'll go to the bottle shop, buy a box and we'll sit down and drink it as two adults in a safe environment".
"if you want to try cigarettes, don't ever do it behind my back. We'll go to the servo, buy a pack and come home and smoke them".
With the cigarettes. I hid them from him for a week or two and then felt so guilty, i opened a fresh pack right in front of him and said sorry. I've since quit a few years ago.
With the beer. I had a few sips when i was real young (less than 10yo) and swore i'd never drink it. Tried it again at around 15 or 16 and thought it wasn't soooooo bad. Then remembered dad's advice and was honest about going out for a drink once i was legal.
to this day i still feel guilty about the cigarette stashing, but i learnt my lesson.
I have two little tackers, and not quite sure how i will approach this topic with them, as they (him more than her) are becoming increasingly aware and interested in my brewing practises. My boy when he was just turning 4, told the cop up the road, "my dad's got a freezer full of hops (flowers) and he needs them to make beer".
time will tell how i handle the drinking thing, but it's an interesting topic for sure....
bignath