Yeast Starter

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SimoB

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I have my first yeast starter going from last night. using White labs 001. It has kicked off great and still very active.

Out of my excitement I started brewing early this morning. Brewing an IPA of an OG 1058.

Have I brewed a bit too early? The starter would've been going for 16 hours when it's time to pitch. It's a 2.5L starter and still has a krausan.

Is it OK to pitch the whole thing as is without chilling and decanting?

Next time I will be more patient but hey, new toys an all.

Cheers,
Simo

Yes all good to go. When I do starters I usually leave them and then decant . Like you, excitement and all its all good. Have a great brew day .

Cheers

Thanks beer belly. Now I can relax and just brew. Such a nice day for it. Helps me forget I've been out if work for 5 months!!!

Sent from my HTC_PN071 using Tapatalk

I find it's best to pitch when the starter is active. When it's active the yeast are up and about and and will be ready to get to work straight away, reducing lag time.

Yeah, two different philosophies for when to pitch the starter. Depends on a few factors as well, such as starter volume, wort volume and exact purpose of starter (to commence fermentation or kick start a stalled ferment).

Most people, myself included, usually opt for a starter that's has been chilled and decanted.

I'm like Spiesy, chill and decant is the process now

Most traditional brewing books I have read state to pitch at high krausen

I have done both and never had an issue

beer belly said:
what part of Melbourne are you in Simo ?
I live in Vermont mate. How bout yourself??