Yeast adding temp

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

King Panda

Reaction score
Hi all

I'm new to all of this and the biggest issue I'm encountering is that the temperature once I've added everything is still 26+ and I believe the yeast needs to be added closer to 20 degrees. I have been chilling 15lts of water to add but even with this the final temp is still too high. How do you guys generally chill the mix before adding the yeast?

Cheers

KP

Hi KP. Try adding ice next time. If you can lift your fermenter into an ice bath to let it cool down that should do the trick.
The first 24 -48hrs or so is the most critical as far as off flavours due to excessive temperature.

Most brewers eventually buy a cheap ($100ish) fridge off gumtree to use as a fermenting fridge. Your fermenter then goes in the fridge and a temperature controller keeps your fermenting beer at your desired temperature, whether it be 18 degrees or for lagers more like 10 degrees.

You want your pitching temp the same as your ferment temp

Or a few degrees lower.
If you have a means of dropping it within a short space of time (say from 26 to 20 in 3 hours), you needn't worry too much but I pitch at 17 for a 20 deg ferment.

Temp control fridge is on your cards friend. Or go for funky stuff like Saison and get to like the out of square flavours that can be good and, not so good.
Which reminds me I have to do some brew at the mercy of Melbourne summer weather without temp control. Low Carb Saison is it.

King Panda,
I have only done kit brews and use boiling water to melt malts and coopers BE2, boil hop editions. Cooling is required, so I sanitize 6-10 1.25ltr bottles of water from the fridge, get them ready and cooling the night before. You can semi freeze 3 -4 hours before hand.

+ 1 for the information above.