Working Out A Brew Plan

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

6tri6ple6

Reaction score
hey all,

I've been brewing all grain now for about six months and have been making some really nice beers. Im at a loss though as to what sort of beers to make as i enjoy all styles or enjoy discovering new styles. I have never really planned my brewing in the past, just brewed what ive felt like at the time. Usually kit and kilo and the odd extract with grains but I want to try to make the best of the seasons and brew accordingly. Ive have just been brewing in my laundry with reasonable temp control only during the cooler months but i have just aquired a brew fridge which i want to utilise that as well.

I am unsure on where to start with my planning. What do you guys do and how do you plan for the coming months? Which beers go better with the different seasons?

Any help would be appreciated

Cheers

Richard

I brewed, when bottling about 2 months ahead. With the kegs, it's now about 2 weeks ahead :lol: - honestly, it depends on when your chosen brew will be estimated ready for consumption; or if you want x variety by x date, work back from there and brew accordingly.

As for varieties:

Summer (Qld Summer):

Any basic lager
Light English Bitter (4% or so)
Weissbier
Witbier
APA that isn't too high in body (so balance out a lower body with hops) - my APA tend to be the same ingredients wise, I just adjust body and the corresponding bitterness from hopping.
Any other lawnmower beer:

Spring & Autumn (Qld - see summer, they are pretty much the same after October and up to May):

Winter:

Bock,
Stout/Porter/Dark Ale
Dunkelweiss
APA adjusted to higher body
High alcohol belgian beers.
AAA