White Thing On Top Of Brew

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mchiu

Reaction score
I just put in a brew today.. a coopers draught with 1 kg of dextrose... added some ice during brewing to make sure the temp is below 25 degrees..... brewed at around 4 30.. just now.. at 9 30 looked into the lid of the fermenter and there is this white round thing like foam or maybe like the white stuff u see when u make chicken or beef stock.. it is not big a small little one... is that causes of infection or is it something else? anybody expereinced this before?

it might dissappear i don't know.. but if it doesn't what should i do?

desperate help needed!

You are watching your yeasties at work.

Put some beers in the fridge, settle back, and watch the show for the next few days.

I'll jump right in.

Now I'm no expert on kits but apart from the ice you seem to be in the right track. Ice can carry bacteria.

Now this white stuff.

MMMMMMMM. Well ....

Fermentation. Your yeast are having fun making beer.

The foam is the Krausen and indicates yeast at work.

Welcome to the world of beer.

Everything to this point seems fine.

Steve.

yeah.. i was a bit concerned with the ice too.. but that was the only way i can think of cooling down the temp of the brew at the moment!

will see what happens in the next few days!=)

Some hard at it yeasties strut their stuff

Krausen.jpg

Yep!
Sounds like that'll be yeast starting a feeding frenzy.
If U start a yeast culure in a plastic bottle, which has 5 discrete "feet" on the bottom, then those 5 mini-conical fermenters will each produce a white spot on the top.
Sounds like U R fine.
Now back to my 15% alc party ale

Is it possible that you can post a pic of your white foam? it might be just krausen or it could be infected. My fingers crossed its krausen.

Scotty